Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

In Idaho I recently got pulled over driving without a license the ticket says "failure to purchase a license" but I also had gotten pulled over when I was 17 years old. I am wondering if that will affect me and what would be the penalty for doing so?


A

It appears you were cited under Idaho Code Section 49-301 which can be either failure to purchase an Idaho driver's license or no/invalid license. The current bail schedule for Idaho lists this offense as costing $206 in fines and fees.

Driving without a valid license is a misdemeanor traffic offense. For misdemeanors you are required to appear in court in the county where the offense is alleged to have occurred. The amount of bail for misdemeanor traffic offenses is set forth in the Idaho Misdemeanor Criminal Rules.

In Idaho once a penalty is imposed for a misdemeanor, the courts note that you will remain in the custody of the court until fines and court costs have been paid. If you are able to pay the fine but refuse to pay, you can be incarcerated in the county jail until fines and costs are satisfied at the rate of $5.00 per day. Many courts offer defendants the opportunity to perform community service work in lieu of payment of fines.

If you were driving without privileges (had your license suspended, revoked, etc. due to your previous citation) then you would have been cited under ID Code 18-8001. This offense is much more serious and carries a mandatory minimum of 2 days in jail, and up to 6 months. It also carries up to a $1000 fine, and it carries an additional license suspension of 6 months. Penalties are increased for subsequent violations.

Failure to purchase a driver's license though is a misdemeanor does not come with any mandatory jail time or license suspension and it does not appear that you being pulled over when you were 17 without a license will affect you on this charge (unless you were still under penalties from that conviction).

To find out more about the penalties you will face in court, which appears to be a fine, you can contact the court listed on your ticket. If you now have a valid Idaho driver's license that may help your case. When you do have a full valid ID license, you can shop with us for affordable auto insurance.

At CarInsurance.com we offer multiple company insurance rates and the ability to purchase from one place; we are ahead of other online insurance companies. Start your quote to see how companies compete for your business.


Categories:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
1 Responses to "In Idaho I recently got pulled over driving without a license the ticket says "failure to purchase a license" but I also had gotten pulled over when I was 17 years old. I am wondering if that will affect me and what would be the penalty for doing so?"
  1. Gerardo

    I currently have a Florida driver's license and have lived in Idaho for almost 2 years. I was pulled over by a Idaho officer recently. He stated that I will receive a misdemeanor for not having an Idaho driver's license after being warned to purchase one. What is the fine going to be and will this prevent me from joining the Navy?

      Reply»