The New York Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) states that a motorist with a learner's permit, junior permit or junior license may drive outside of New York State if it is allowable by the laws of the other state(s). So your home state of NYS does allow you to drive out of state with just your learner's permit, but you have to make sure the other states you travel through will allow it as well.
The NYS DMV goes on to say that if you drive out of New York, you must obey that state's learner permit and license restrictions that apply to you. They also suggest that you check with the police or motor vehicle authorities of the states which you plan on visiting and want to operate a vehicle in to see what restrictions or conditions you may have on you, if you are allowed to drive with just a permit in that state.
A Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles representative told us that Virginia will accept any valid learner's permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing state as long you are at least 15 years of age and that are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age
We contacted the North Carolina Department of Transportation (DOT) whose representative that responded stated that yes, you can operate a vehicle in North Carolina at age 16 with your New York learner's permit however you will be required to obey all restrictions on your NYS permit.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) representative told us you could drive in Georgia with an out of state learner's permit but that you would need to contact the GA DDS first so that they were certain that you and your parents understood what conditions would be placed on you if you operated a vehicle in Georgia with only a NYS learner's permit. They said to contact them at their Customer Service Number of (678) 413-8400 for specific information regarding your right to drive in GA with NYS permit.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) representative stated that you can indeed drive in FL with an out of state learner's permit. You must though have a fully licensed supervising adult over the age of 21 in the passenger seat at all times and follow the restrictions on your NYS learner's permit.
If you plan on driving out of New York with just a learner's permit you will of course need to have a fully licensed driver with you. Your restriction in New York is that you must be accompanied by a supervising driver at least age 21 that has a license valid for operating the type of vehicle you are driving.
The information we gave here is accurate to the best of our knowledge from the information we were given from the various DMVs we contacted, however states laws can change so we would advise you to contact the DMV of any state you plan to drive though. When you contact the various DMV you can get more information specific to your situation regarding your permit and the conditions you must follow in each state (what age your supervising driver must be, passenger restrictions, etc.). It would appear in many states that the licensed driver that will be traveling with you, and supervising your driving, would need to be at least 21 years of age.
The owner of the vehicle you are going to use for the trip from New York to Florida should contact their auto insurance company and make certain you are covered to drive during the trip with just a permit. You would hate to take a trip and get in a motor vehicle accident only to find out that you were not covered by car insurance.
As a teenage driver, auto insurance rates are high so shop around to make sure you are getting the best rates possible. When looking around for low cost car insurance come to CarInsurance.com, an online marketplace. We offer you the ability to shop for car insurance online and the ability to purchase your policy directly through CarInsurance.com.