Normally if you are renewing your driver's license in Virginia you can do so online, over the phone or by mail however if you let your driver's license expire you will have to go to a VA Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office. In VA if your license has expired for as much as one day, proof of legal presence is required when applying to renew.
Legal presence may be proved using documents such as a U.S. birth certificate or U.S. passport. For individuals not U.S. born, legal presence can be proved using a variety of other documents, such as a Certificate of Citizenship or naturalization, Resident Alien Card, or a valid foreign passport with a visa and I-94. When renewing your driver's license you will also need to pay a licensing fee. Currently the typical fee for a VA driver's license with no endorsements added to it is $32. You may pay your fees with cash, money order, check, check card or major credit card.
Beyond the proof of legal presence and payment of the licensing fee we are not aware of other steps you need to take when renewing your driver's license that has only been expired for three (3) weeks except for the vision test. You are required to pass the vision screening any time you renew at a customer service center as you need to do. Also normally your picture will be taken for the new license to be issued with your updated photograph on it.
When you renew your license, it will be valid for eight (8) years. Remember next time the expiration of your driver's license is coming up you may renew your VA driver's license as early as six (6) months prior to the expiration date on your license.
Make sure you renew your license as soon as possible since being stopped with an expired license will allow police to ticket you for this violation. In fact in Virginia driving with an expired license is cited the same as driving without a license. VA law states that a violation of this type is a Class 2 misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor. In Virginia for Class 2 misdemeanors the penalty can be confinement in jail for up to six months and a fine of up to $1,000, either or both.
Also if you fail to renew your license and it goes on so long that your license has expired for more than one year, you must re-take all tests with the DMV. These tests include the vision screening, two-part knowledge exam, and road skills test.
If you have questions about what all documents you should bring with you to the Virginia DMV customer service center to renew your license you can contact the VA DMV directly at 804-497-7100.
When shopping around for Virginia car insurance let us at CarInsurance.com help you find affordable auto insurance rates. Our online car insurance quote takes a few minutes and then we provide rates directly from multiple insurance companies in 60 seconds or less. Our online purchase process takes the average user 16 minutes; with instant underwriting, payment, and print your proof of insurance!