We are not familiar with anything in terms of car insurance that is called the SR-44. We believe you are actually referring to the FR-44 which is currently required in Florida and Virginia under certain circumstances. The FR-44 is similar but with different, higher insurance limits than a SR-22 and is typically required due to alcohol convictions such as a DUI. Both the SR-22 and FR-44 in Florida and Virginia are usually required for 3 years.
An SR-22 is a certificate mandated by the state to verify that an individual is maintaining auto insurance Liability coverage. The FR-44 is similar to the SR-22 financial responsibility certificate that you must file with the state after certain convictions, though normally, the FR-44 is required after DUI convictions and has higher limits than the SR-22. While naming the new certificate the SR-44 would have made sense, states instead have named this filing the FR-44. The FR-44 is used currently in Florida and Virginia as we noted earlier.
In Florida the FR-44 has been required since February 2008. An FR-44 Form in Florida is required for reinstatement after certain alcohol related convictions, such as a DUI, and must be maintained for 3 years.
The FL FR-44 has higher Liability limits in the amount of 100/300/50 than the SR-22. So $100,000 for Bodily injury/death of one person, $300,000 Bodily injury/death of two or more persons and Property Damage Liability of $50,000 is what is required. A SR-22 in FL has required Liability limits of only 10/20 for Bodily Injury and 10 for Property Damage.
The FL Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) explains that a driver must have these new required Liability limits of 100/300/50 (instead of the previously lower SR-22 limits of 10/20/10) in place on the offense date of the alcohol related offense to not owe a reinstatement fee but will still need to provide the state with an FR-44 filing of financial responsibility. The reinstatement fee (since February 2, 2008) after a first suspension is $150, a second suspension $250 and for a third suspension $500 dollars.
Florida Statute 324.023 is the specific law that speaks about the higher limits and that are associated with the FR-44 is you would like to read about it.
In Virginia there is the SR-22 as well as the FR-44 just like Florida and the FR-44 has higher required Liability limits. The SR-22 limits in VA are 25/50/20 and is needed for a variety of reasons included unsatisfied judgments, uninsured motor vehicle suspension and failure to provide proof of insurance associated with insurance monitoring as well as for certain driver license suspension reinstatements.
The FR-44 Liability insurance coverage limits are double the SR-22 insurance coverage limits and are 50/100/40. The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) says the FR-44 certification is required for the following convictions in Virginia:
- Maiming while under the influence
- Driving while under the influence of intoxicants or drugs
- Driving while the driver's license has been forfeited for a conviction, or finding of not innocent in the case of a juvenile
- Violation of the provisions of any federal law or law of any other state or any valid local ordinance similar to the above
So the deciding factor on if you are required to file a SR-22 or FR-44 is the type of violation you were convicted for in either Florida or Virginia. The courts or DMV should inform you if either filing is required to reinstate your license if it has been suspended or revoked. If you are uncertain though if you need a SR-22 or FR-44 filed through your auto insurance company then contact your state's DMV who should be able to tell you for certain if any financial responsibility filing is needed and if so which one.
CarInsurance.com can handle the VA and FL FR-44 requirements when you quote and purchase online with us. If you indicate the above infractions and request an SR-22, we will bump up your coverage requirements and after you purchase the policy the insurance company will file the FR-44 on your behalf.