To register your motor vehicle in New Jersey you need proof of car insurance. State laws mandate that all drivers in New Jersey provide proof of insurance when operating any vehicle. Failure to obtain and maintain auto insurance on your car can result in severe penalties such as hefty fines, community service, license suspension and surcharges.
The NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) states that having car insurance is just as important as having a title on your car or registering it with the state. When you obtain auto insurance for your vehicle you will be issued a NJ insurance identification card for each vehicle listed on your policy and this is your proof of insurance you can show to the MVC when registering your vehicle. You then will need to keep your car insurance card in your vehicle(s) and may be required to present it:
- Before an inspection
- When involved in an accident
- When stopped for a traffic violation
- When you are stopped in a spot check by a police officer
In New Jersey there are two types of car insurance policies to choose from to fulfill the auto insurance requirements in place. There is the Basic policy and the Standard policy you can choose from.
The Basic policy the NJ insurance regulator notes should really only be considered by motorist with few family responsibilities and no or few real assets. The Basic Policy may provide a decent transition for younger drivers who are just beginning work since this type of policy provides the driver only basic, minimum protection at a time they can unable to afford more comprehensive coverage with better protection. The Basic Policy comes with Property Damage Liability of $5000, no Bodily Injury Liability coverage is included however you can add as an option $10,000 of Bodily Injury Liability coverage for all persons per accident to your Basic policy. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) of at least $15,000 is also part of the Basic policy.
With a Standard Policy you have $5000 worth of Property Damage Liability but can purchase coverage up to $100,000 per accident. Bodily Injury Liability limits are 15/30 which stands for $15,000 of Bodily Injury Liability per injured person and a total of $30,000 of Bodily Injury Liability for all people hurt in one accident. You can choose to obtain higher limits of up to 250/500 though with the Standard Policy. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) of at least $15,000 is also part of the Standard Policy. Also there is Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury with a $15,000/$30,000 limit and Uninsured Motorist Property Damage with a $5,000 limit.
For information on all the documents you need, such as the registration application and proof of insurance, to register your car in New Jersey contact the NJ MVC directly. When looking for low cost car insurance to cover your vehicle so that you can register it, let CarInsurance.com help you out. We offer you the ability to shop for auto insurance online and the ability to purchase your policy directly through CarInsurance.com.