You may need to file a SR-1 accident report form but it would be the Nevada version that they have of the SR-1 and not the California version of the SR-1 form that is for accidents occurring in CA.
Both your licensing state, California, and the state in which you had the accident, Nevada, have their own versions of a SR-1 accident report form. The one in California is for accidents occurring in CA just as the form states and not to be filed if you are a resident of California but have an accident out of state. And the SR-1 in Nevada is for accidents occurring in NV.
The general reason for the SR-1 forms in each state is so that the state can make certain the drivers involved in the accident had car insurance and thus can fulfill the financial responsibility laws of the state. Basically they try to spot uninsured drivers this way and try to make certain that the at-fault person can pay for the damages he or she caused.
There are differences in the forms though such as California law requires the drivers involved in the accident to file the SR-1 with the CA DMV regardless of fault and the report must be filed in addition to any report by the CHP, other law enforcement or an insurance company since reports by these entities do not fulfill the SR-1 filing requirement.
The SR-1 in Nevada says on the form that it must be filed within 10 days of an accident that occurred in Nevada that was NOT investigated by law enforcement. So it appears to us that if police responded to your accident and filed their own report then you should not have to file the SR-1 in NV, however we would advise you to check with the responding law enforcement officer if possible to make sure his report is sufficient and to confirm you do not need to send into the NV DMV a completed SR-1 form.
It is our understanding that the SR-1 is required in Nevada (per NRS 484E.070) if you are involved in an accident that causes $750 or more in damages or if anyone is injured in the accident. If you are the only one involved in the accident (single car accident) but had damage of $750 or more or was injured you still must file the SR-1.
You must complete the SR-1 form if you are either the registered owner or the driver of the vehicle. The NV You can download a copy of the NV SR-1 form from the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles website.
If you were uninsured at the time of the accident in Nevada then you may be cited for driving without insurance. This is a misdemeanor offense in NV and from what we have read comes with a fine of between $600 and $1000 but can be reduced by $100 if you this is your first offense for this charge and obtain a car insurance policy before your court appearance.
Whether looking for a car insurance policy in California or Arizona we can help you get affordable auto insurance. CarInsurance.com is an Online Insurance Marketplace™ gives consumers the opportunity to shop and compare insurance companies online. We offer the ability to shop for car insurance online and the ability to purchase your policy directly through CarInsurance.com, so get started with instant car insurance quotes now.