You will need to inform your current car insurance provider that you need to have a FR-44 filed so that you can obtain a hardship license, not your previous auto insurance company.
In the state of Florida the FR-44 is required for a total period of three years from the suspension date of the DUI offense date. It doesn't mean you had to get the FR-44 on that date but must maintain it 3 years from that date before you can take the FR-44 filing certificate of financial responsibility off of your car insurance policy.
The FR-44 is similar to the SR-22 financial responsibility certificate that you must file with the state after certain convictions though typically the FR-44 is required after DUI convictions and has higher limits than the SR-22. In Florida the FR-44 has been required since February 2008. Florida Statute 324.023 is the specific law that speaks about the higher limits that the FR-44 filing requires.
As you are aware in FL when you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) you may receive a revocation that is anywhere from 180 days to a 1 year and becomes effective on your DUI conviction date. Before the expiration of your revocation period, you may apply for a hardship license in the county where you live in Florida however there are a few requirements to get the hardship license. One is that you complete DUI School completion and also obtain treatment, if mandated to do so.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV) says that at the time of a license reinstatement you must also, whether for a hardship license or a full license, after a DUI you must take the required examination, and pay an administrative fee and revocation reinstatement fee and any other licensing fees that are required plus show proof that your automobile insurance company filed the FR-44 on your behalf.
The FR-44 provides proof that you have purchased an auto insurance policy that includes of Bodily Injury Liability insurance in the amount of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per occurrence and $50,000 Property Damage Liability. If you already had this high of coverage on your arrest date then you will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $150 but will still have to obtain the FR-44 showing that you now still have these high of Liability coverages.
So if you had the higher Liability limits, in the amount of 100/300/50, at the time of DUI arrest, you should get proof from your former automobile insurance company to show the Florida HSMV this plus you will need to show you currently have these limits and the FR-44 filed with your new car insurance company.
If you do not yet have the right limits for your vehicle then shop for the car insurance you need here with us. At CarInsurance.com we can handle the new requirements when you quote and purchase online. If you indicate that you had a DUI and request an SR-22, we will bump your coverage requirements and after you purchase the policy the automobile insurance company will file the FR-44 on your behalf.