New Jersey state law sets the fine amount as being between $100 and $200 for an outdated or expired inspection sticker. From the fine schedules we have seen it appears courts typically fine a person around $150 for this offense.
When driving in NJ with an outdated inspection sticker you are breaking the law under New Jersey Statute (NJSA) 39:8-9. Here it states that if you do not have the required inspection sticker, or have an expired inspection sticker, you are subject to a fine of not less than $100 or more than $200 or to imprisonment for not more than 30 days, or to both such fine and imprisonment. So jail time is a possibility for this offense, though we have only read of a fine amount being assessed normally.
The NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) notes that if you are caught driving without an inspection ticket they may also revoke your registration privileges.
As you should be aware, in New Jersey all gas vehicles, except new vehicles, which are registered in NJ, are required to pass state safety and emissions inspections every two years at a state inspection facility or a state-licensed private inspection facility.
To even be eligible for your vehicle to go through the inspection process you must bring certain documents. It is required that you show the inspection station a valid driver license, valid New Jersey registration and proof of car insurance for your vehicle to be inspected. Without the proper documentation, your vehicle will not pass inspection. If you have moved to NJ from another state and have an expired inspection sticker on your car from that state, you are required to have your vehicle inspected within 14 days after registering it in New Jersey.
If you have been ticketed for driving with an expired inspection sticker in NJ then check with the court listed on your citation to find out what exact fine and penalties you may be facing. If you are unable to get your vehicle inspected because you do not have the proper auto insurance on it then CarInsurance.com can help.