No, you are not required to carry insurance on a moped in the state of Florida.
A moped must be registered with the FL Department of Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV). Upon registration a tag will be provided that must be attached to the moped. Even though this type of vehicle is registered and tagged in FL state law does not require the operator of a moped to possess nor maintain motorcycle or car insurance on it.
In Florida a moped is defined as a two-wheel vehicle with an engine displacement of 50 cc or less and that has a top speed of 30 miles per hour or less. The Florida HSMV notes that you need a Class E non-commercial driver's license to drive any two or three wheel motor vehicles 50 cc or less, such as mopeds or small scooters according to chapter 322 of Florida Statutes.
You must be 16 years of age in Florida to get this type of driver's license which allows you to operate your moped. If your moped was over 50cc it would be classified as a motorcycle and you would need a motorcycle endorsement on your driver license or a motorcycle only license.
While insurance is not required for a moped in Florida the voluntary purchase of Liability insurance is recommended. Failure to carry Liability insurance can result in the loss of your driver license, tag and registration if you are involved in a traffic accident, convicted of a DUI or other occurrences as defined by the FL Financial Responsibility Law.
We have partners that offer motorcycle insurance which could be placed on your moped. If you also obtain your auto insurance with the same car insurance company as you get your moped insurance you should get a multi-policy discount. When shopping around for low cost car insurance, come to CarInsurance.com, an online marketplace to get instant quotes.
In the state of Florida do you have to have insurance on a moped?