In Alabama it is a misdemeanor that has a fine of up to $500 for failing to provide proof car insurance.
If you are insured but simply did not have your car insurance card with you when policy requested hat you show proof of insurance, you should see about getting the ticket dismissed if you show to the court proof that auto insurance coverage was in place at the time.
The state of Alabama allows for a person ticketed for driving without insurance or failure to show an officer proof of insurance to get their ticket dismissed if they show up to the court before their court date and can provide proof that the vehicle was indeed insured at the time of the citation.
It is under Alabama Code section 32-7A-6 that says if you operate a motor vehicle which requires Liability auto insurance on it you must carry evidence, such as an insurance card, in the vehicle to show that it is currently covered by the mandated car insurance coverage.
Section 32-7A-16 then says you are guilty of a Class C misdemeanor if you are caught driving without insurance or fail to comply with a request by a law enforcement officer for display of evidence of insurance such as an insurance card.
As a driver in Alabama you should know the Minimum Liability Insurance (MLI) law requires motor vehicle owners to have Liability insurance in the following minimum amounts:
- $20,000 for death or bodily injury to one person;
- $40,000 for death or bodily injury to two or more persons; and
- $10,000 for damage or destruction of property of others.
Alabama Department of Revenue's Motor Vehicle Division says that motorists who are stopped by law enforcement for driving violations or equipment checks and cannot provide the requested proof of vehicle liability insurance can be fined up to $500 for the first offense. If convicted a second or subsequent time, the owner or operator may face a fine up to $1,000, or a six month driver's license suspension, or both.
Also there is a license plate registration suspension which continues until a reinstatement fee is paid and current proof of insurance is provided. If this is your second or subsequent offense then you would have to serve a mandatory four month registration suspension in addition to paying the reinstatement fee and providing current proof of insurance.
If were driving without car insurance, then CarInsurance.com can help you get the mandated Liability auto insurance coverages so you can legally drive again. Start your free auto insurance quote here to see how companies compete for your business so that you can obtain affordable auto insurance in AL.