Yes, in Georgia if you are caught driving at a speed of 85 miles per hour or more on any road or highway or 75 miles per hour or more on any two-lane road or highway you can be ticketed by police and classified as a "super speeder."
The classification super speeder came about in Georgia from HB 160 in 2009 that passed and became part of Georgia law. It then went into effect on January 1, 2010 by revising the Georgia Code and adding a new section which is numbered 40-6-189. This law imposes, in addition to any local speeding violation fines, a statewide penalty to drivers when:
- A motorist is convicted of driving at a speed of 75mph or more on any two land road or highway, or
- A motorist is convicted of driving at a speed of 85 mph or more on any road.
The additional fine that this "super speeder" law places on you is $200. The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) says that within 30 days of a conviction of one of the above listed offenses they will contact you by first class mail to let you know that:
- You have been classified by the State as a "Super Speeder" because of your conviction.
- You owe an additional fine of $200
- You have 120 days to pay this additional fine in full (initially it was only 90 days to pay)
If you are convicted of going 85 mph as you were cited for in Georgia then you will be classified as a super speeder. You will make two separate payments for your ticket due to being a super speeder.
The first will be the fine for the speeding conviction which you will pay to the court in the jurisdiction that issued you the speeding ticket. The second payment will be the Super Speeder fee which will be paid to the GA DDS after you receive notification from them that this fee is additional penalty is due.
The Super Speeder law directs the DDS to automatically suspend your driver's license or driving permit if the $200 fine is not paid within 120 days. Once your license is suspended under this GA law, it will cost you an additional $50 fee to have it reinstated upon payment of the $200 fine. If you are caught driving with a suspended license instead of paying the super speeder fee then of course other fines could be assessed.
Even if you are not from Georgia this super speeder penalty can be placed on you. Out of state drivers are subject to the same requirements as Georgia drivers in regards to this law. Additionally, the GA DDS notes that if as non-resident your Georgia driving privilege is suspended, this information will be reported to your home licensing state, which could result in the loss of driving privileges there as well depending upon their laws.
In Georgia, all speeding violations are considered misdemeanor offenses per Georgia Code 40-6-1, so yes it would be a misdemeanor on your motor vehicle record if you are convicted of driving 85 mph in a 70 mph speed limit area.
A speeding ticket for 15 mph over the limit, even without the super speeder designation, is enough that your car insurance company may take note of it next time they pull your motor vehicle record. Depending then upon your auto insurance company's rating system this speeding violation may be enough to raise your rates.
If your rates go up due to this ticket or you are just ready to shop around for cheaper insurance rates, come to CarInsurance.com. We offer multiple company insurance rates and the ability to purchase from one place; we are ahead of other online insurance companies. Start your free auto insurance quote here to see how companies compete for your business.