Exchanging a valid Florida driver's license for a New Jersey license is pretty simple. You need to bring your current FL license and identification documents to get the NJ license.
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) says that if you have recently moved to their state that you must transfer your out-of-state license within 60 days of your move or before your current license expires, whichever occurs first. To transfer your out-of-state license:
- Visit a local MVC Agency with your current valid driver's license
- Bring proper legal documents to pass 6 Point ID and Address Verification
- Knowledge and road tests will be waived by the MVC as long as you have a valid, non-provisional driver license issued by any of the 50 states or District of Columbia
- You will be issued a four-year basic New Jersey license and will be required to surrender your out-of-state license.
There are four requirements for 6 Point ID Verification:
- At least one Primary ID - Such as birth certificate (certified copy from one of the 50 states, District of Columbia or a US territory), US passport, current or expired less than 3 years, or current US passport card, etc.
- At least one Secondary ID - Such as marriage certificate, current photo driver license from any other state or the District of Columbia, Social Security card, etc.
- Verifiable Social Security Number
- Proof of Address - Such as utility or credit card bill issued in the past 90 days that shows your name at your current address (mailings to a P.O. boxes are not accepted as proof of address), checking or savings account statement from a bank or credit union, issued in the past 60 days, original lease or rental agreement showing your name as the lessee or renter, etc.
Every ID document you show must be an original. The NJ MVC notes that if you use a birth certificate for proof of identification and have changed your name since birth (i.e. woman that married and took on husband's last name) you will also need to bring along a document verifying the name change, such as a marriage certificate.
To see the comprehensive list of what documents you can use for the 6-point ID verification then go online with the NJ MVC. Here they have an Online Document Selector which goes through the all approved documents and you can choose which ones to bring and make sure they add up to the 6 points needed since the MVC assigns different points to different ID documents.
Your Florida driver's license cannot be transferred to a New Jersey driver's license if you are under 18 years old. Instead, you must complete the mandatory NJ Graduated Driver License (GDL) program requirements to get a license there.
If you moved to New Jersey with a vehicle then under their state law, you must transfer your vehicle registration and title (with or without a lien or lease) within 60 days. The basics title your car in New Jersey is:
- Visit your local MVC Agency with your original title.
- If your vehicle is financed, you will have to complete an application at an Agency to release the title. The lien holder will then send the title to the Agency and you will be notified when you can return to continue the process.
- If your car is leased, contact your leasing company to get the required paperwork to take to the MVC. This paperwork will give you legal permission (power of attorney) to transfer the title.
- Complete an application for Certificate of Ownership and registration application.
- Pay the transfer title fee - $60 for standard vehicle, $85 for financed vehicle with one lien, or $110 for a financed vehicle with two liens
- If you don't have a lien, you will be issued a receipt that you will need to keep to apply for your registration and receive your plates. If your car is leased the NJ title will be sent to the leasing company.
You also are required in New Jersey to have a vehicle inspection within 14 days of registering it. As part of the registration and inspection process you will need to show proof of car insurance, in fact you will need to provide the name of your New Jersey insurance company and policy number. So before registering your vehicle in NJ you will need to change over your Florida car insurance to a New Jersey car insurance policy.
CarInsurance.com can help you get the NJ auto insurance you need. We are an Online Insurance Marketplace™ giving consumers the opportunity to shop and compare insurance companies online. We offer the ability to shop for car insurance online and the ability to purchase your policy directly our site, so get started with instant car insurance quotes for New Jersey.