Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

Over 10,000 questions asked & answered

 
Hi Penny!

Answering your CarInsurance.com questions since 2005

Q

I was wondering what the penalty is in Pennsylvania for driving someone else's vehicle when they have a 9 month expired license and no car insurance.


A

If you are stopped and determined to be operating your vehicle without insurance in Pennsylvania, you could face the following penalties and expenses:

  • A minimum of $300 fine for driving uninsured
  • A three month suspension of your driver's license
  • $50 restoration fee to restore your driver's license
  • A three month suspension of your vehicle registration
  • $50 restoration fee to restore your vehicle registration
  • That the vehicle may not be driven by anyone while the registration is suspended.

The penalty for a conviction of driving with an expired or invalid license, according to the PA Vehicle Code, is a fine of $200. If proof can be furnished showing that the person held drivers license formerly and no more than one year has elapsed from the last date of renewal the fine is $25. The PA Driver and Vehicle services will suspend the operating privileges for 6 months of any driver who is convicted of a subsequent driver's license offense within 5 years.

[Let CarInsurance.com help you find affordable auto insurance now.]


Categories:


Comments

Tell us what you think about this answer

Leave a Comment
(required)
(required; won't be published)
 
 
 
0 Responses to "I was wondering what the penalty is in Pennsylvania for driving someone else's vehicle when they have a 9 month expired license and no car insurance."