Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

What insurance does my state require?


A

Most states have financial responsibility laws that require motorists to carry certain amounts of auto insurance coverage.  To drive legally, you must carry the minimum coverage and be able to show a current insurance card or electronic proof of insurance on demand.

Bodily injury liability and property damage liability are the chief requirements for most states because they pay for damages that you inflict on others.  Bodily injury comes with per person and per accident limits, and property damage has a maximum per accident limit.  (See “What are limits” for a full explanation of how liability limits work.)

Once your insurance company has paid out to the limits of your policy, you are personally liable for the remainder of the costs of an accident you cause. Liability coverage will not repair your own car if you cause an accident.

In no-fault states, personal injury protection will also be required.  Some states also require uninsured and/or underinsured motorist coverage as extra protection. 

State laws vary greatly, and that is why you will see such a difference in minimum car insurance requirements from one state to the next.  Click on the state name for additional details. 

Alabama: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000  

Alaska: Minimum bodily injury liability: $50,000/$100,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000  

Arizona: Minimum bodily injury liability: $15,000/$30,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000  

Arkansas: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000  

California: Minimum bodily injury liability: $15,000/$30,000; minimum property damage liability: $5,000  

Colorado: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $15,000  

Connecticut: Minimum bodily injury liability: $20,000/$40,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury:   $20,000/$40,000 

Delaware: Minimum bodily injury liability: $15,000/$30,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; personal injury protection: $15,000/$30,000 

District of Columbia: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000; uninsured motorist property damage: $5,000 (subject to $200 deductible)

Florida: Minimum property damage liability: $10,000; personal injury protection: $10,000. Bodily injury liability isn't required but minimum of $10,000/$20,000 is recommended and required by some carriers.

Georgia: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000  

Hawaii: Minimum bodily injury liability: $20,000/$40,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; personal injury protection or managed care (PPO): $10,000 

Idaho: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $15,000  

Illinois: Minimum bodily injury liability: $20,000/$40,000; minimum property damage liability: $15,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $20,000/$40,000  Effective Jan 1., 2015, liability limits will increase to 25/50/20 and uninsured motorist bodily injury to 25/50.

Indiana: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000  

Iowa: Minimum bodily injury liability: $20,000/$40,000; minimum property damage liability: $15,000  

Kansas: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury:  $25,000/$50,000; personal injury protection: $4,500 medical / $900 work loss

Kentucky: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; personal injury protection: $10,000 

Louisiana: Minimum bodily injury liability: $15,000/$30,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000  

Maine: Minimum bodily injury liability: $50,000/$100,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $50,000/$100,000; medical payments: $2,000

Maryland: Minimum bodily injury liability: $30,000/$60,000; minimum property damage liability: $15,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $30,000/$60,000; uninsured motorist property damage: $15,000 limit: personal injury protection: $2,500

Massachusetts: Minimum bodily injury liability: $20,000/$40,000; minimum property damage liability: $5,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $20,000/$40,000; personal injury protection: $8,000

Michigan: Minimum bodily injury liability: $20,000/$40,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; personal injury protection: Medical and work loss; property protection insurance: $1,000,000

Minnesota: Minimum bodily injury liability: $30,000/$60,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000; personal injury protection: $40,000

Mississippi: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000  

Missouri: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000 

Montana: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000  

Nebraska: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000 

Nevada: Minimum bodily injury liability: $15,000/$30,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000  

New Hampshire: Insurance not mandatory, but you are always liable if at-fault. If you buy insurance, the requirements include minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000; medical payments: $1,000

New Jersey (Standard policy): Minimum bodily injury liability: $15,000/$30,000; minimum property damage liability: $5,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $15,000/$30,000; uninsured motorist property damage: $15,000 limit (subject to $500 deductible): personal injury protection: $15,000

New Mexico: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000  

New York: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000; personal injury protection: $50,000

North Carolina: Minimum bodily injury liability: $30,000/$60,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $30,000/$60,000; uninsured motorist property damage: $25,000 limit (subject to $100 deductible)

North Dakota: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000; personal injury protection: $30,000

Ohio: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000. Previous to Dec. 22, 2013, liability limits were 12.5/25/7.5.

Oklahoma: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000  

Oregon: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $20,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000; personal injury protection: $15,000

Pennsylvania: Minimum bodily injury liability: $15,000/$30,000; minimum property damage liability: $5,000; first party benefits (PIP): $5,000 

Rhode Island: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000  

South Carolina: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000; uninsured motorist property damage: $25,000 limit (subject to $200 deductible)

South Dakota: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000 

Tennessee: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $15,000  

Texas: Minimum bodily injury liability: $30,000/$60,000; minimum property damage liability: $25,000  

Utah: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$65,000; minimum property damage liability: $15,000; personal injury protection: $3,000 

Vermont: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $50,000/$100,000; uninsured motorist property damage: $10,000 limit (subject to $150 deductible)

Virginia: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $20,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage: $20,000 limit (subject to $200 deductible)

Washington: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000  

West Virginia: Minimum bodily injury liability: $20,000/$40,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $20,000/$40,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage: $10,000 limit (subject to $300 deductible)

Wisconsin: UM mandatory, UIM optional. Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $10,000; uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000/$50,000 

Wyoming: Minimum bodily injury liability: $25,000/$50,000; minimum property damage liability: $20,000  

More articles from Penny Gusner


Categories:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
0 Responses to "What insurance does my state require?"