dcsimg
Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753
Go To Top
Get Personalized Car Insurance Quotes
Age
Currently Insured?
Page 1 of 52

Driver cellphone and texting laws, penalties by state

slide1

Laws and penalties regarding distracted driving vary by state. The majority of states, 47 plus D.C., have laws in place that ban texting and driving. And many states allow you to talk on a phone and drive, as long as you’re not holding the phone in your hands. But in other states, there are no laws against handheld devices being used in cars, and in a handful, texting is allowed.

In the majority of states, fines for driver texting or cellphone tickets run between $50 and $200. But you can pay much more or a bit less. A first ticket in Oregon can result in a $1,000 ticket, which goes up to $2,500 for a second offense. On the other end of the spectrum, in Wisconsin a texting-while-driving ticket is $20. In a dozen or so states, you can have points tacked on to your driver’s license record for a cellphone violation, though in several states, that will only happen if you’re a repeat offender.

Will a texting ticket raise my insurance?

A texting ticket will raise your rates, on average, by 23 percent, according to a rate analysis by CarInsurance.com, but could be much higher or lower depending on your state laws and driving record, among other factors. (To see the rate increase for your state, visit Texting ticket: How much your car insurance goes up.)

To see the cellphone penalties in your state, review the following slides.

Alaska

Alaska

Penalty for talking: Not illegal

Penalty for texting: Up to $500

Points on license: No points

Arizona

arizona

Points on license: No points
Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: Not illegal
Points on license: No points
Teens are banned from using cell phones until have a graduated license or reach 18 First offense is $75 and restrictions on their license for 30 days. Second violation results in a $100 fine and restriction on their license for 60 days

Arkansas

arkansas

Penalty for talking: Only illegal in school or construction zones
Penalty for texting: Up to $100
Points on license: No points

California

california

Penalty for talking: $20 first offense, $50 for additional ones
Penalty for texting: $20 first offense, $50 for additional ones
Points on license: No points

Colorado

colorado

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $300
Points on license: 4 points

Connecticut

connecticut

Penalty for talking: $150 first offense, $300 for second, $500 for third or more
Penalty for texting: $150 first offense, $300 for second, $500 for third or more
Points on license: No points

Delaware

Delaware

Penalty for talking: $100 first offense, up to $300 for second or more
Penalty for texting: $100 first offense, up to $300 for second or more
Points on license: No points

Washington DC

washington_dc

Penalty for talking: $100
Penalty for texting: $100
Points on license: No points

Florida

florida

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $30
Points on license: No points

Georgia

georgia

Penalty for talking: $50 first offense, $100 second, $150 third
Penalty for texting: $30
Points on license: No points

Hawaii

Hawaii

Penalty for talking: $250 first offense, $300 if in school or construction zone
Penalty for texting: $250 first offense, $300 if in school or construction zone
Points on license: No points

Idaho

idaho

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $81.50
Points on license: No points

Illonois

illonois

Penalty for talking: $75 first offense, $100 second, $125 third
Penalty for texting: $75 first offense, $100 second, $125 third
Points on license: No points

Indiana

Indiana

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: Up to $500
Points on license: No points

Iowa

iowa

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $30 - Court costs push it up to $100
Points on license: No points

Kansas

kansas

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $60
Points on license: No points

Kentucky

kentucky

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $25 first offense, $50 each additional
Points on license: 3 points

Louisiana

louisiana

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $500 first offense, $1,000 each additional
Points on license: No points

Maine

maine

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $250 first offense, up to $500 each additional
Points on license: No points

Maryland

maryland

Penalty for talking: $75 first offense, $125 second, $175 third
Penalty for texting: $500
Points on license: No points

Massachusetts

massachusetts

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $100 first offense, $250 second, $500 third
Points on license: No points

Michigan

michigan

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $100 first offense, $200 second and more
Points on license: No points

Minnesota

minnesota

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $50 first offense, $225 second and more
Points on license: No points

Mississippi

mississippi

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $100
Points on license: No points

Missouri

missouri

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: Not Illegal
Points on license: No points

Montana

montana

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: Not Illegal
Points on license: No points

Nebraska

nebraska

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $200 first offense, $300 second, $500 third and more
Points on license: 3 points

Nevada

nevada

Penalty for talking: $50 first offense, $100 second, $250 third and more
Penalty for texting: $50 first offense, $100 second, $250 third and more
Points on license: No points first offense, 4 points second and more

New Hampshire

new_hampshire

Penalty for talking: $100 first offense, $250 second, $500 third or more
Penalty for texting: $100 first offense, $250 second, $500 third or more
Points on license: No points

New Jersey

new_jersey

Penalty for talking: $200-$400 first offense, $400-$600 second, $600-$800 third or more
Penalty for texting:  $200-$400 first offense, $400-$600 second, $600-$800 third or more
Points on license: 3 points for third offense or more

New Mexico

new_mexico

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $25 first offense, $50 second
Points on license: No points

New York

new-york

Penalty for talking: Up to $200 first offense, Up to $250 second, Up to $450 third
Penalty for texting: Up to $200 first offense, Up to $250 second, Up to $450 third Points on
License: 5 points

North Carolina

north_carolina

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $100
Points on license: No points

North Dakota

north-dakota

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $100
Points on license: No points

Ohio

ohio

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: Up to $150
Points on license: No points

Oklahoma

oklahoma

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $100
Points on license: No points

Oregon

oregon

Penalty for talking: Up to $1,000 first offense, Up to $2,500 second, Up to $2,500 and 6 months in jail third and more
Penalty for texting: Up to $1,000 first offense, Up to $2,500 second, Up to $2,500 and 6 months in jail third and more
Points on license: No points

Pennsylvania

pennsylvania

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $50
Points on license: No points

Rhode Island

rhode_island

Penalty for talking: $100
Penalty for texting: $100
Points on license: No points

South Carolina

South-Carolina

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $25
Points on license: No points

South Dakota

South_Dakota

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $100
Points on license: No points

Tennessee

Tennessee

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $50
Points on license: No points

Texas

Texas

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: Up to $99 first offense, Up to $200 second
Points on license: No points

Utah

Utah

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: Up to $750 first offense
Points on license: No points

Vermont

Vermont

Penalty for talking: Up to $200 first offense, up to $500 second
Penalty for texting: Up to $200 first offense, up to $500 second
Points on license: No points

Virginia

Virginia

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $125 first offense, $250 second
Points on license: No points

Washington

Washington

Penalty for talking: $136 first offense $234 Second
Penalty for texting: $136 first offense $234 Second
Points on license: No points

West Virginia

west_virginia

Penalty for talking: $100 first offense $200 Second, $300 third
Penalty for texting: $100 first offense $200 Second, $300 third
Points on license: 3 points after the third offense

Wisconsin

wisconsin

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: Up to $400
Points on license: 4 points

Wyoming

wyoming

Penalty for talking: Not illegal
Penalty for texting: $75
Points on license: No points

Saving on car insurance after a ticket

If you get ticketed for texting or talking on your phone while driving, your rates are likely to go up.

“If the infraction goes on your driving record, assume you can get surcharged by insurers, raising your premium," warns Penny Gusner, consumer analyst for CarInsurance.com. "Insurers check your driving record when writing new policies, and typically every six months upon renewal, and will factor in any driving infractions using their own point system."

“The rate hike will vary by insurer, but generally it would be treated as a minor violation such as a low-level speeding ticket or running a red light. Normally a rate increase will be the same as any other first infraction, around 20 to 23 percent," says Gusner.

If you experience a sharp rate increase after a cellphone ticket, you may want to compare car insurance rates from other insurers. You'll probably find that some insurers are more forgiving than others when you shop around, she says. Here are some other tips for saving:

  • See if your state car insurance laws allow you to take a driver safety course to remove license points or qualify for a discount.
  • Consider raising your deductible, which will lower your rates.
  • Review discounts your insurer offers to be sure you are getting all those for which you qualify.
  • If you’ve received several tickets or had an accident within a year of a moving violation, consider buying a policy from an insurance company that specializes in high-risk drivers.
Categories:

    Related articles on CarInsurance.com


      Comments

      Tell us your thoughts

      Leave a Comment
       

      0 Responses to "Florida"
      Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided are for information purposes. They are not intended to substitute informed professional advice. These responses should not be interpreted as a recommendation to buy or sell any insurance product, or to provide financial or legal advice. Please refer to your insurance policy for specific coverage and exclusion information. Please read our Terms of Service.