10. Idaho (tie)
In Idaho, authorities made 7,439 DUI arrests in the state, which has a population 1.6 million.
Drivers convicted of a drunken driving misdemeanor can serve up to six months in jail for their first violation, have their license suspended between 90 and 180 days and receive an up to $1,000 fine. A second misdemeanor violation is a minimum mandatory 10 days and up to one year in jail, an up to $2,000 file and a one year mandatory license suspension that starts after release from jail. Drivers convicted a second time must also have an ignition interlock installed in their vehicles.
In Idaho, your annual car insurance rate increases 56 percent, on average, after a DUI.