The sparsest state in the union has cracked down on drunken driving. First offenders are automatically slapped with a $1,500 fine; second offenders a $3,000 fine. Citing these as the largest in the country, WalletHub called Alaska the second toughest state on DUIs, behind Arizona.
It ranked 18th for prevention efforts. . In 2014, 3 people per 100,000 residents were killed in DUI crashes, close to the 3.1 national average, equating to 22 Alaskans killed.
And the state still had the seventh highest rate of DUI arrests: 49.8 for every 10,000 people. In the CDC survey, only 1.2 percent of Alaskans said they had driven while impaired in the previous 30 days.
In Alaska, a DUI conviction will increase your yearly car insurance rate by an average of 49 percent.