In our research, we found that average car insurance in Florida (FL) is $180 per month for a full coverage policy. Our guide to buying car insurance for Florida drivers is based on rate data research and expert advice from our veteran staff of insurance analysts and editors. You’ll learn how much coverage to buy, how much it will cost, and learn how auto insurance in Florida works to protect you and your family.
If you’re looking for the average car insurance costs near you, then our guide to buying car insurance in Florida will help. Here’s all the information you need to make an informed decision about which coverage you should buy and how much it will cost in Florida.
Whether you live in Miami or Jacksonville, we have tips that can save you money on your monthly premiums so that more of your hard-earned cash stays where it belongs – with you! Our expert advice will help ensure that when something happens, whether it be a fender bender or a major accident, your family is protected financially and physically.
Car insurance in Florida has some unique qualities compared with insurance in other states, and we’ll help you understand it all. Learn about the state requirements for car insurance in Florida, our recommendations for the coverage you should buy, and insurance laws that are specific to the Sunshine State. Also, you can see the average cost of insurance in Florida for nearly every ZIP code in the state.
That means you’ll know what to expect when shopping for auto insurance in Florida — and you won’t overpay for it. Other helpful information for:
- Low-cost auto insurance for drivers with tickets
- Companies ranked from cheapest to most expensive for drivers with accidents
- Cheap car insurance for drivers with bad credit
- Drivers in various age groups
- The difference in cost among various coverage levels
- The average car insurance cost in Florida is $2,162 a year or $180 per month for a full coverage policy.
- The average car insurance rate for state minimum coverage is $69 a month, or $828 a year.
- USAA and Geico have the cheapest auto insurance in Florida among carriers surveyed in our experts’ data analysis of rates for nearly all ZIP codes in the state
- Miami ZIP code 33125 is among the most expensive ZIP codes for full coverage insurance in the state. But you can still save on coverage by comparing rates.
- How much is car insurance in Florida?
- Who has the cheapest car insurance in Florida?
- Cheap car insurance in Florida
- Best car insurance in Florida
- Compare and shop to find affordable car insurance in Florida
- List of car insurance companies in Florida
- Florida Auto Insurance Laws & Minimum State Requirements
- FAQs: Florida car insurance
- Guide to car insurance (with rates) in cities of Florida
How much is car insurance in Florida?
The average cost of car insurance in Florida is $180 a month ($2,162 a year) for a driver age 30 for full coverage. That’s $33 more than the national monthly average rate of $147. The average car insurance rate for state minimum coverage is $69 a month, or $828 a year.
Florida Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code
Enter a ZIP code in the tool above to see the average premium for the location. You will also see the highest and lowest rates from up to six major carriers surveyed. You can get a more customized rate by choosing from among six age groups and three coverage levels. This way you can tell if your quotes are too high and if you should keep shopping for a lower rate.
Who has the cheapest car insurance in Florida?
USAA and Geico have the cheapest car insurance in Florida among carriers surveyed in our experts’ data analysis of rates for nearly all ZIP codes in the state.
We compare rates from all the top insurance providers so you can find the best deal. Whether you’re looking for liability only or full coverage, we can help. Below you’ll see average annual rates for Florida, ranked cheapest to most expensive, for three coverage levels:
- State minimum liability requirements
- Liability limits of $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident and $50,000 property damage
- Liability of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident and $100,000 property damage, with comprehensive and collision at $500 deductible
|Company||State minimum average annual rate||50/100/50 average annual rate||100/300/100 average annual rate|
|USAA Gen Ind Co||$358||$473||$1,111|
|Geico Gen Ins Co||$540||$752||$1,701|
|State Farm Mut Auto Ins Co||$789||$977||$1,912|
|Allstate Fire & Cas Ins Co||$1,008||$1,465||$3,049|
|Allied Prop & Cas Ins Co||$1,122||$1,537||$2,768|
|Progressive Select Ins Co||$1,151||$1,393||$2,433|
Who is cheapest for drivers with bad credit in Florida?
State Farm is the cheapest car insurance in FL for drivers with bad credit, among those surveyed by our experts. Car insurance for drivers with bad credit costs significantly more than it does for those with good credit. Florida ranks 15th among the worst states for drivers with bad credit, as CarInsurance.com’s data analysis shows. Compared to good credit drivers, those in Florida with bad credit pay 74 percent more, on average. The good news is that you can still shave some money off your coverage costs if you compare car insurance companies. You’ll see below that the difference among major insurers is nearly $2,618 for a full coverage policy for a driver with bad credit. That’s how much you can potentially save by comparing car insurance quotes.
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,704|
|21st Century Centennial||$3,348|
|Allied P&C PPCM||$3,794|
Which company has the cheapest car insurance for young drivers in Florida?
Geico has the cheapest car insurance, based on our expert analysis of six major carriers, for young drivers in Florida. Enter an age from 18 to 25 to see who has the best rates for young drivers in Florida, by company, buying a full coverage policy. You’ll see in the chart below which car insurance companies have the lowest rates for young drivers buying a full coverage policy. Average car insurance rates by age data show that drivers typically pay higher rates until age 26 when rates begin to drop as drivers gain more experience on the road. But even young drivers can save money by comparing car insurance rates to see which company has the lowest rates, by qualifying for student discounts and by staying on a parent’s policy as long as possible.
Who has the cheapest insurance for senior drivers in Florida?
Geico also ranks as the cheapest for more mature drivers in Florida. Below you can see average rates by company, from least to most expensive, for senior drivers age 65 and older, buying a full coverage policy. In addition to comparing car insurance companies, mature drivers may qualify for a senior discount, which may also trim costs.
How much does it cost to add a teen to your policy in Florida?
No matter where you live, adding a new driver to your family policy will hike your rate significantly. In Florida, you can expect your rate to go up by an average of 144% when adding a driver age 16 to your coverage, according to CarInsurance.com rate data.
You’ll see in the table below how much it costs, on average, to add a teen driver in Florida, and how major insurers compare on price. Geico had the lowest auto insurance cost for adding a driver age 16 to a full coverage family policy, among insurers surveyed.
|Company||Average Rate||Average Rate after adding female teen||$ Increase (female)||Average Rate after adding male teen||$ Increase (male)|
|21st Century Centennial||$2,384||$4,268||$1,884||$4,834||$2,451|
|Allied P&C PPCM||$2,543||$4,692||$2,149||$5,506||$2,963|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,590||$4,109||$2,519||$5,163||$3,573|
How much does car insurance go up after an accident in Florida?
In Florida, a recent accident claim will hike your rates by an average of 35%. However, exactly how much more you pay depends on several factors, and your car insurance company is one of those significant factors. Each company assesses risk differently, so that’s why the increase after an accident will vary among insurers. Among those surveyed, State Farm had the cheapest car insurance in Florida for drivers with a recent accident. Here is how major carriers compare after at-fault accidents for the average Florida driver with a full coverage policy:
|Company||1 At-fault property damage accident over $2K||2 At-fault property damage accident over $2k||At-fault bodily injury accident|
|21st Century Centennial||$5,241||$6,537||$4,410|
|Allied P&C PPCM||$3,606||$4,768||$3,606|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,703||$2,759||$1,703|
Who has the cheapest Florida car insurance for drivers with speeding tickets?
Based on our data, State Farm has the lowest rate for Florida drivers with a recent speeding violation. If you get a speeding ticket, chances are you’ll see an increase in what you pay for car insurance, upon your policy renewal. In Florida, a minor speeding ticket will hike your rate by an average of 27% to 31%. Typically, you’ll pay more for three years. But even with a traffic ticket, comparison shopping can save you money. For instance, you’ll see that the difference between the highest rate and the lowest in the table below is more than $2,000, on average, according to CarInsurance.com’s rate analysis. That’s how much you can save by comparing car insurance companies.
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,703|
|21st Century Centennial||$3,216|
|Allied P&C PPCM||$3,362|
Cheap car insurance in Florida
Buying the state-required amount to drive legally, or the state minimum, is the cheapest way to go. But if you opt for the cheapest car insurance in Florida, you are only covered for damage you do to other drivers’ cars and for others’ injuries — and only up to the limits you chose. That means your insurer won’t pay for damage to your car or for your injuries if you cause an accident.
It does cost more to buy more protection, but as you’ll see in the chart below, additional coverage is typically affordable. Increasing your insurance from the state minimum to full coverage with $500 deductible costs, on average, $1,334, or more, or about $110 a month. To boost just your liability limits, the extra cost is just $272 a year, so only about $22 monthly.
|Coverage limits||Average annual rate|
|Liability Only – state minimum||$828|
|Liability Only – 50/100/50 BI/PD||$1,100|
|Full Coverage – 100/300/100 BI/PD $500 Comp/Collision deductible||$2,162|
Best car insurance in Florida
Scores are based on Insure.com’s “Best Insurance Companies” customer review survey of 3,700 customers. Policyholders ranked insurers on claims handling, customer service, value, mobile apps/website usefulness and were asked if they would renew their coverage and if they would recommend the company. All scores are out of 100.
Who are the best car insurance companies in Florida?
- The Auto Club Group – AAA91.89
- Auto Club of Southern California*90.77
- CSAA Insurance Group89.67
- American Family85.47
- The General84.48
- State Farm83.6
- Liberty Mutual80.98
*Auto Club of Southern California(Auto Club Enterprise Insurance Group)
Compare and shop to find affordable car insurance in Florida
The most effective way to find affordable car insurance in Florida is to compare car insurance quotes from multiple carriers. Your age, your driving record, the model of car you have, the severity and frequency of claims in your neighborhood and other variables are used by insurance companies to figure out the cost of your policy. That’s why the price for the same coverage can vary significantly among insurance companies — and why you should compare rates.
For example, Miami ZIP code 33125 is among the most expensive ZIP codes for full coverage insurance in the state. But you can still save on coverage by comparing rates. The highest monthly rate ($370) among six carriers is $244 more than the lowest ($126). So over a year, that adds up to nearly $2,928 you could save. If you want to compare car insurance quotes, use our tool above. You should comparison shop upon renewal, but also if you move, add a vehicle or teen driver to your policy, get married or divorced, or have a significant change in your credit score.
Other tips for garnering the most affordable Florida car insurance quotes include:
- Maximizing discounts, for instance, bundling your home and auto with the same company can trim an average of 10% to 12% from your auto rates.
- Dropping comprehensive and collision for cars that are worth less than $3,000
- Hiking your deductible amount, for instance, from $500 to $1,000
How do you get car insurance quotes in Florida online?
You can get Florida car insurance quotes online by researching multiple carriers. When comparing car insurance quotes, you will typically need to provide fairly basic information:
- ZIP code
- Basic personal information – name, age, birthday
- Driving history
- Current insurance company
- Information on other drivers in your household
- Vehicle make and model
- Desired coverage types, limits and deductibles
More detailed quotes may also require:
- All vehicle VINs (vehicle identification number)
- Whether you own, lease or finance your vehicle
- Annual mileage
- All household drivers’ license numbers
- Amount of time you’ve been insured
Once you provide the information, you will typically get a quote that is in many cases an estimate of what you will pay. Generally, you won’t get the actual rate until you lock in a policy. If the difference between the quote and your rate is significant, you can opt-out of buying the policy, though generally, the estimate will be fairly accurate. Once you are ready to buy a policy you will certainly need to have handy specific information, such as your driver’s license number, VIN, etc.
Why is car insurance so expensive in Florida?
Florida is the sixth most expensive state for car insurance, based on our expert analysis of rates for full coverage. There are several factors that contribute to expensive car insurance rates in Florida:
- The state has the highest rate of uninsured drivers (26.7%) in the nation. That means claims are more expensive, overall, for carriers, who then pass the cost on to policyholders.
- Lots of drivers in the state are considered high-risk. Florida has lots of inexperienced drivers, due to the many colleges and universities in the state, lots of elderly drivers as its home to many retirement communities and also hosts drivers unfamiliar with the local roads as a tourist destination. Again, all this adds to a high rate of claims for insurance companies, relatively speaking.
- Florida sees a significant percentage of claims with attorney involvement, which will often result in higher costs for the insurer. Those costs are passed on to all policyholders via higher premiums.
- The state is prone to severe storms. Damage from hail, wind and flooding increases the number of claims, and costs, insurance companies have to absorb, which in turn, is yet again passed on to drivers through higher rates.
Unlike many other states, Florida requires personal injury protection (PIP), which tacks on costs to even bare-bones policies. Roughly 20% of a car insurance premium goes to PIP coverage
Average annual car insurance rates for major cities in Florida
Below, you’ll see how average annual rates for several of the largest cities in the state compare to state and national averages. Rates are for coverage of $100,000 per person/$300,000 per accident in liability and $50,000 of property damage coverage, with comprehensive and collision carrying a $500 deductible.
List of car insurance companies in Florida
|Rank||Company||Premiums Written||Market Share|
|1||Berkshire Hathaway Insurance Group||4,678,326||24.44%|
|2||State Farm Group||3,042,871||15.89%|
|3||Progressive Insurance Group||3,031,444||15.84%|
|4||Allstate Insurance Group||1,842,800||9.63%|
|6||Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies||617,089||3.22%|
|8||Farmers Insurance Group||337,872||1.76%|
|10||American Family Insurance Group||56,791||0.30%|
Source: A.M. Best; State/Line (P/C Lines) – P/C, US; Data as of: November 28, 2018
Florida Auto Insurance Laws & Minimum State Requirements
Florida car insurance requirements
|Minimum Coverage||Minimum Limit|
|Minimum property damage liability||$10,000|
|Personal injury protection||$10,000|
Do you need car insurance in Florida?
You must have $10,000 of property damage liability to pay for damage to others’ cars. Florida laws also mandate that drivers carry $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP). It covers you, your passengers and other authorized drivers of your car who are injured while in your insured vehicle.
No-fault or PIP insurance in Florida pays for:
- Medical expenses – May include reasonable charges for medical, hospital, surgical, nursing, dental, ambulance and x-ray services. Necessary medications, medical supplies and prosthetic devices may also be covered.
- Loss of essential services (also sometimes referred to as disability or replacement services) – Can receive benefits if you need help performing household or other tasks due to your injury.
- Loss of income
- Funeral expenses
Be aware that damage to your car is not covered under PIP. For that, you would have the at-fault driver’s property damage liability coverage pay for it. Or, if you bought optional collision coverage, that would cover damage to your own vehicle.
You certainly can drive with just the minimum coverage mandated by the state. But we strongly recommend that you also purchase bodily injury liability coverage. This pays, up to your policy limits, for injuries others receive in an accident caused by you or other drivers listed on your policy. While not required by the state, many car insurance companies require it as part of any policy they issue in Florida.
Here’s why: Florida is a no-fault state. Treatment for any injuries you suffer is covered by your personal injury protection, up to its limit. This is regardless of who caused the accident. If bills exceed that limit, the at-fault driver is legally personally responsible unless he or she has bought bodily injury liability coverage.
If you buy bodily injury liability coverage, the smallest amount you can buy is $10,000 per person (up to $20,000 per accident). Homeowners and those with substantial assets need more than that.
Florida’s no-fault car insurance system
Florida operates under a no-fault car insurance system. This means that after an accident, each driver files a claim with his or her own insurance company, regardless of who is at fault. This differs from most states where drivers injured in a car accident caused by another driver will get reimbursed from the at-fault motorist’s insurance company. This derives from the at-fault driver filing a bodily injury liability claim to pay for the injured driver’s medical expenses.
Personal injury protection (PIP) is required in no-fault states
Under Florida’s no-fault laws, all drivers involved in an accident first make injury claims to their own PIP coverage. Payouts, however, are limited to 80% of the costs. If injuries from the accident meet the criteria of being “serious” under Florida law, the at-fault driver’s bodily injury liability pays for additional costs. That’s why it’s wise to have bodily injury liability coverage even though it’s not required for Florida drivers.
Drivers in Florida are required to carry at least $10,000 of PIP, which is also called Florida no-fault insurance.
Getting non-owners car insurance in Florida
Car insurance companies offer non-owner policies because the industry is aware that there are some instances when a person may need to carry car insurance but doesn’t have a vehicle to place on the policy. The average cost of a non-owner policy is $474.
Typically, drivers who need a non-owner policy are mandated by the state to have car insurance coverage, but don’t own a car. In other cases, drivers who don’t own a vehicle, but want coverage for when they drive a rental or other car buy non-owner policies
Florida mature driver discount on car insurance
Florida law says that drivers age 55 and older get a 10% discount on their rates if they pass a state-approved driving course. The discounted rate applies to the liability (bodily injury and property damage), personal injury protection, and collision portions of your policy. You will get discounted rates for three years if you don’t cause an accident and have no moving violations on your record.
Hurricanes and tropical storms threaten Florida each year. Comprehensive coverage will repair the damage to your vehicle from hail and flooding, but make sure to get the coverage in effect before a storm warning is issued. Otherwise, you may be out of luck. Most insurers will not allow you to buy extra insurance once a tropical storm or hurricane watch/warning is issued. You’ll have to wait 48 to 72 hours after it’s lifted to buy more coverage.
No-deductible windshield repair or replacement
In an effort to get drivers to repair cracked or damaged windshields, Florida state law says that your comprehensive coverage deductible isn’t applicable for windshield damage.
Snowbirds and Florida car insurance
If a vehicle is in Florida for more than 90 days during a 365-day period (the days do not have to be consecutive), you must purchase personal injury protection and property damage liability limits. You must get at least the state minimum limits. See “Car insurance for snowbirds” for more information.
Uninsured motorist coverage and penalties for driving in Florida without insurance
Florida leads the nation for the percentage of uninsured drivers on the road – 26.7% That’s why it’s wise to carry uninsured motorist coverage. It helps pays for damages when you’re in an accident with an uninsured driver.
If you’re the one driving without coverage and you’re busted, you may have to pay a $30 fine and your registration and license may be suspended and your plates confiscated. You may also be required to file an SR-22 form. If your license and registration are suspended, you will have to pay a $150 reinstatement fee upon renewal.
Seat belt law in Florida
If you’re a driver or passenger and are ticketed for a seat belt violation, you will not get a point on your record; however, if the ticket is for a child restraint offense, it comes with three points. The fine is $30 per adult and $60 per child, plus administrative and court costs.
Expired registration in Florida
Registrations issued in your name expire at midnight on the day of your birth date, except for mobile homes and commercial vehicles. The fine for a tag that is expired for less than six months is around $100 and a tag that expired six months or more can come with jail time of up to 60 days and/or a fine of up to $500.
Insurance fraud in Florida
Florida is notorious for car insurance fraud. It has more questionable claims than any other state, with con men frequently taking advantage of its no-fault insurance law, which requires all drivers to carry $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage for injuries suffered in a car crash.
Florida’s senior driver law
Drivers older than age 80 must renew their license every six years, compared with every eight years for younger people. Additionally, people 80 and older must pass an eye exam with every renewal.
Florida also allows confidential reporting of a possibly unsafe driver by anyone – doctor, law enforcement, relative or bystander. Officials may ask those drivers to submit medical reports from their doctor or to undergo testing at a driver’s license office.
Florida FR-44 forms and coverage
In order to have your Florida driver’s license reinstated after a DUI, you must bump up your coverage and submit proof that you did so. You must submit verification that you are carrying increased liability insurance (300/100/50). Proof of this increased insurance coverage must be provided by filing a form. It is called the Florida Uniform Financial Responsibility Certificate. It is commonly known as the “FR-44 form.” You will have to keep FR-44 coverage in place for three years.
Your insurer will file the form with your state motor vehicle department for you. Be aware, however, that not all insurers will process FR-44 forms.
Florida roads with the most fatal accidents
Here are the highways and roads where the most fatal accidents happened in 2017, according to the most recent data available from the Fatality Analysis Reporting System research compiled by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration:
|Roads||Number of Fatal Accidents|
FAQs: Florida car insurance
What is considered full coverage car insurance in Florida?
Full coverage car insurance in Florida is as follows:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability per person, up to $300,000 per accident
- $100,000 property damage liability
- $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP)
- Comprehensive and collision coverage, each with a $500 deductible
How to get cheap car insurance in Florida with a low down payment?
To save money, drivers on a budget are often on the hunt for insurance coverage that won’t have a large first payment, the one that puts their policy into effect. That’s because the first payment is sometimes a bit more than the rest of your regular payments.
The amount of money you’ll have to pay to put your car insurance coverage into effect will depend on your insurance company, your location, your age, the type of car you drive and your driving history, among other factors. So, the best way to find coverage that has a “low down payment,” is really as simple as comparing car insurance quotes to find the most affordable rates.
How to get affordable high-risk auto insurance in Florida?
You can still find affordable car insurance even if you’ve had an accident, or have been ticketed for a moving violation, such as speeding, or your credit score isn’t the best it could be. Though these variables generally mean your car insurance company will hike your rate, you can still save by comparing car insurance quotes. That’s because some insurance companies may increase your cost a lot, but others may not, depending on their unique underwriting formulas for pricing policies.
For others, however, buying insurance from a standard carrier may no longer be an option. If you have serious moving violations on your record or have a history of accidents, private car insurance companies may not sell you a policy, deeming you too much of a risk to make it worthwhile. In these instances, you would buy coverage from the Florida Automobile Joint Underwriting Association (FAJUA), which is for high-risk drivers denied coverage elsewhere.
You can purchase a policy from FAJUA like you would from any other carrier, but it is meant as a temporary bridge to cover you until you are eligible for a traditional policy. Because FAJUA was created specifically for high-risk drivers, the cost is more significant than a standard policy. To find an agent near you, consult FAJUA’s directory on their website: https://fajua.org/directory.