In the great state of Texas, as a 17-year-old you can, indeed, have a vehicle put in your name.
The Texas Department of Transportation told us that the state doesn't have an age restriction in place for individuals wanting to be recorded on the title and registration as the owner of a vehicle.
While getting the truck's title and registration in your name will not be an issue, purchasing and insuring a vehicle when you are under the age of 18 may be.
Many dealers and private parties and car insurance companies prefer not sell or insure a vehicle who is still a minor (under 18 years of age) because of the legal ramifications it could bring about.
Basically, a minor has the right to enter into a contract (both verbal and written); however, in most states the minor may set aside the contract before they reach the age of 18. This means that a minor can void a contract, which makes car dealers and insurance companies wary of doing business with someone under 18 years of age.
Because of contract law, typically the person or dealer selling to a 17-year-old will request that a parent or guardian sign on the bill of sale and other contractual paperwork. Doing this makes the adult who signed on the contract bound to the contract terms, even if you, the minor, are not.
The same holds true for car insurance companies. They don't want to take the risk that you could void your insurance contract (policy) with them so will normally request that you have a parent or guardian sign on the policy with you.
The Texas DOT said that the state allows for car insurance companies to impose age restrictions on individuals. Since proof of financial responsibility (liability insurance) is a prerequisite to obtaining Texas registration, your ability to obtain the required car insurance policy may limit your ability to register a truck.
CarInsurance.com is an Online Insurance Marketplace™ that gives you the opportunity to shop and compare insurance companies online as well as purchase your car insurance policy online.