Reckless operation of a vehicle likely falls under the willful or wanton disregard of the safety of persons and property points offense in Ohio. If so it is worth 4 points on your license. Exceeding a posted speed limit by 30 mph or more results in 4 points put on your Ohio license.
If as an OH driver you accumulate 6 points, you will receive a letter from the Registrar of Motor Vehicles indicating the following penalties should 12 or more points be accumulated within a 2 year period:
- Suspension of driving privileges for 6 months.
- Proof of financial responsibility must be filed with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles and maintained for 3 years.
- Upon completion of suspension, a remedial driving course approved by the Director of Public Safety must be taken.
- A new driving test must be taken.
In Ohio, motor vehicle points assessed stay on your record for a period of 2 years so it is likely that your reckless operation offense's points have been taken off.
As for the convictions for the reckless operation and speeding citation, the Ohio Revised Code does not state that convictions ever come off of an Ohio motorist's driving record. The Driver's Abstract available through the BMV though reflects only the last 3 years of a driver's record.
If these moving violations have caused your insurance rates to go up, start shopping for new cheap car insurance in Ohio by clicking here.