The state of Michigan maintains a driving record for every driver. The driving record contains information the Secretary of State is required to maintain, such as moving violations, traffic crashes, and alcohol-related convictions.
Most convictions stay on your MI driving record for at least seven years. Certain convictions and licensing actions stay on your driving record for at least 10 years. A conviction for a fatality remains on your driving record permanently.
Points are different than violations and once placed on your driving record they remain there for two years from the date of conviction. The system used to post points to your driving record is separate from the points assigned by an insurance company to determine your rate.
Michigan State law sets forth the factors that companies use when setting their auto rates. Some of the factors that companies can use in setting rates include the type of vehicle you own, your driving record, your age or length of driving experience and where you live.
Insurance companies typically look back at your driving record for a period of 3 to 5 years depending upon what the state insurance regulatory body allows and an insurance company's guidelines.
To find out how far back your insurance carrier's "look back" period is for your driving record check with your agent. Your agent should also be able to tell you how long different violations listed on your MVR (motor vehicle record), such as speeding, DUI, etc, will affect your rates.