The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet states that any driver suspended or expired for more than five (5) years will start as a new driver.
If you are age 21 or older you may renew a valid driver license up to six months prior to the expiration date however if your license is already expired this is of no help.
While they do not note the penalty for driving with an expired license they do state that if the license is expired for more than one year, a vision and written test will be required.
Driving with an expired license comes with a fine and the vehicle can be held on a 24 hour impound. The state of KY lists examples of 24 Hour impounds as:
- Expired registration tags over 6 months,
- select parking violations,
- expired drivers license over 30 days, and
- drivers arrested for a criminal offense while in possession of the vehicle.
If you have been caught driving with an expired license in Kentucky you should contact the court listed on the citation to find out about the penalties you may receive and you may also want to ask if you go renew your license before the court date if it will help reduce your penalties.