Connecticut statutes (Motor Vehicles Chapter 246, Section 14) discusses the penalties for driving without a valid license. Here it states that any person who violates any provision of this section shall, for a first offense, be deemed to have committed an infraction and be fined not less than seventy-five dollars or more than ninety dollars and, for any subsequent offense, shall be fined not less than two hundred fifty dollars or more than three hundred fifty dollars or be imprisoned not more than thirty days, or both.
These penalties are reiterated in other Connecticut laws (CSG 14-36h and PA 05-215) which note the penalties for operating a vehicle without a license, violating the driving requirements for 16 and 17 year olds, driving when under 16 or violating other licensing provisions.
Here it states that a first time offense of driving without a valid license comes with a fine of $75 to $90. Subsequent convictions for this offense can come with penalties that can include up to 30 days in prison and a fine of $250 to $350. This section on Connecticut law also notes that if a person was previously convicted of violating these provisions they can be fined an additional $500 or up to 100 community service hours. Also if 2 previous violations have occurred there will be an additional mandatory 90 days imprisonment.
If you were cited for being an unlicensed motorist in CT then contact the court listed on your citation to find out more about the possible penalties you will be facing in court and if there is any way to better your situation before your court date, such as obtaining a license (if you are able to do so).
If you are able to obtain a Connecticut driver's license then you can obtain the required auto insurance coverages here with us. Follow this link for inexpensive car insurance.