dcsimg
Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

See if your question's been answered
Looking for more answers? Find advice to
commonly asked questions from our team
of insurance experts.

Q

What is the penalty for driving with overdue inspection in Pennsylvania?


A

If you drive with an out of date inspection sticker in Pennsylvania you can be stopped and ticketed by law enforcement. According to the Allegheny County, PA police department your state inspection sticker expires on the last day of the month indicated by inspection sticker (i.e. 12-10 would be December 31, 2010). They also note that the fine for expired inspection sticker is up to $25.00 plus costs. We have read that the fine usually ends up being around $100.

In Pennsylvania a safety inspections for passenger cars and light-duty trucks require that the following items be checked: suspension components, steering, braking systems, tires and wheels, lighting and electrical systems, glazing (glass), mirrors, windshield washer, defroster, wipers, fuel systems, the speedometer, the odometer, the exhaust systems, horns and warning devices, the body, and chassis.

PennDOT notes that newly registered vehicles in Pennsylvania must be safety inspected within ten (10) days of registration date. Inspections are preformed at official inspection stations (usually a repair garage or a service station with a repair shop.) Inspection fees are posted at official inspection stations. These fees do not include repairs to correct vehicle defects.

For most vehicles in the 42 county, Non-I/M regions this safety inspection will also include a Visual Anti-Tampering Check. The Visual Anti-Tampering Check is an examination.

To read more about the PA inspection procedures you can read through Chapter 175, Chapter C of the Pennsylvania Code.


Categories:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
0 Responses to "What is the penalty for driving with overdue inspection in Pennsylvania?"