The Kalispell Valley has the highest car insurance rates in Montana, while Missoula and Helena drivers pay the least. Comparable rates for every ZIP code are mapped out below. But rates vary wildly by insurer, making Big Sky Country one of the best places to compare insurance companies.
Montana state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
*For policies issued after Jan. 1, 2017, minimum property damage liability will be $20,000.
Montana Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Invalid ZIP code or data not available
CarInsurance.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services to provide a report of average auto insurance rates for a 2014 Honda Accord for every ZIP code in the United States. We calculated rates using data for six large carriers (Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, Nationwide, Progressive and State Farm).
Averages are based on insurance for a single 40-year-old male who commutes 12 miles to work each day, with policy limits of 100/300/50 ($100,000 for injury liability for one person, $300,000 for all injuries and $50,000 for property damage in an accident) and a $500 deductible on collision and comprehensive coverage. This hypothetical driver has a clean record and good credit. The rate includes uninsured motorist coverage. Average rates are for comparative purposes. Your own rate will depend on your personal factors and vehicle.
What you need to know about car insurance in Montana
Penny Gusner CarInsurance.com Consumer Analyst
Montana Car Insurance Laws
The easiest and most popular means for drivers to comply with Montana's financial responsibility law is by purchasing an auto insurance policy that meets the state required minimum limits. (Drivers can also post a surety bond or obtain a self-insurance certificate, but very few do.)
Most new cars are worth more than the state's property damage liability minimum of $10,000, so you risk a personal lawsuit if you happen to hit something that just came off the showroom floor. We recommend you increase all your liability limits if you have substantial savings or a home to protect.
America's autobahn? Nope. Montana has speed limits, and it puts points on your motor vehicle record for violating them. But the state doesn't allow insurance companies to increase your premium for speeding convictions of less than 10 mph over the limit during the day and 5 mph over the limit at night.
Consequences for being an uninsured motorist: Penalties escalate in Montana the more times you are found driving without insurance. A first offense comes with a fine of at least $250 or up to 10 days in jail. A second offense fine starts at $350, same jail time option, but also the owner must surrender the vehicle's registration and plates for up to 90 days.
A third offense results in a minimum fine of $500 and/or up to six months in jail and the surrender of license plates and registration for up to 180 days. A fourth or subsequent conviction comes with the same potential fine, jail time and registration/plates suspension as a third offense plus the driver's license will be suspended until proof of insurance is provided.
Senior driver discount: State law mandates that Montana auto insurance providers offer drivers age 55 and older a reduction in premiums upon the successful completion of a highway traffic safety program that is approved by the Montana Department of Transportation. The discount given varies by insurer.
Largest car insurance companies for Montana by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
State Farm Group
Farmers Insurance Group
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Progressive Insurance Group
Mountain West Insurance Group
Allstate Insurance Group
Hartford Insurance Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
QBE Americas Group
Source: A.M. Best market share Rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.