Salt Lake City drivers pay Utah's highest state car insurance rates, and motorists down near the Arizona border pay the least. You can find every ZIP code in Utah mapped out below. Desert or mountain, you'll find the cheapest insurance carriers charging half as much as the most expensive do.
Utah state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
Personal injury protection
Utah Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Invalid ZIP code or data not available
CarInsurance.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services to provide a report of average auto insurance rates for a 2014 Honda Accord for every ZIP code in the United States. We calculated rates using data for six large carriers (Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, Nationwide, Progressive and State Farm).
Averages are based on insurance for a single 40-year-old male who commutes 12 miles to work each day, with policy limits of 100/300/50 ($100,000 for injury liability for one person, $300,000 for all injuries and $50,000 for property damage in an accident) and a $500 deductible on collision and comprehensive coverage. This hypothetical driver has a clean record and good credit. The rate includes uninsured motorist coverage. Average rates are for comparative purposes. Your own rate will depend on your personal factors and vehicle.
Medical bills beyond that amount and damage to cars are handled by state-mandated liability insurance. Utah's bodily liability insurance requirements of $25,000 per person ($65,000 per accident) and $15,000 for property damage are about average compared with those in other states, but families with savings or a home to protect should consider raising those amounts.
The points system: Like many states, Utah uses a driver's license point system to keep problem drivers off the road. But unlike others, it assigns double-digits points for routine traffic violations. Improper passing is 50 points; following too closely is 60. But don't worry: It takes 200 points to lose your license.
The self-cleaning driving record: A full year without a moving violation removes half the accumulated points from your Utah driving record. Stay clean for two years and all the points are deleted. Once every three years, you can take a defensive driving class and remove 50 points.
Points for individual convictions expire in three years, even if you don't take the steps above.
Utah uninsured motorist penalties: You may be fined $400 and your license and registration may be suspended.
Electronic proof of insurance: Utah allows drivers to show proof of insurance during a traffic stop on a smartphone. It is one of 31 states that does so.
Largest car insurance companies for Utah by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
State Farm Group
Farmers Insurance Group
Allstate Insurance Group
Progressive Insurance Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
Bear River Mutual Insurance Company
Amer Family Insurance Group
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Source: A.M. Best market share rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.