How you will change your address on your license will depend upon the guidelines of your DMV. Many states only give you 10 days once you move to notify the DMV and change your address listed on your drivers license. See the examples below for how a few states instruct you to change your driver's license.
Florida law requires you to keep your driver license address current within ten days after moving. This state allows you to choose the method most convenient for you since in FL you can change your address online, using a touch tone phone, though the mail or by visiting a local DMV office.
In California their law also states that you must notify DMV within 10 days of changing your address. There is no charge to change your address, and you may notify DMV by any of the following ways:
- Completing a change of address online
- Call any DMV office at 1 (800) 777-0133 and request that a change of address form be mailed to you. It will take 5 days for you to receive it. Complete the information required on the form, then mail it to the address listed at the top of the form.
- Download the Change of Address form (DMV 14) from the CA DMV site, complete the information, and mail it to the address listed at the top of the form.
- Visit any DMV office, complete a change of address form, and give it to a technician. The technician will give you a Change of Address Certificate card (DL 43) to complete and carry with your license.
If you do 2 or 3 above, type or write in ink your new address on a small piece of paper, sign and date it. Carry this piece of paper with your license but do not tape or staple the change of address information to your driver's license.
In New York you have a maximum of 10 days after you move to notify the DMV. You must report the change of address at a DMV office, by phone or by email. NYS DMV does not allow you to change your driver's license address online or by email.
In NY, the DMV instructs you to write the new address on your documents. Write your new address in the available space on the back of your driver license, learner permit or non-driver photo ID card. On your registration document, carefully draw lines through the old address and write your new address. Do not change the address on your title certificate. If you write any change on your title certificate, the certificate is not valid. Your title certificate is valid with your old address.
According to the NYS DMV to change the address on your driver license and vehicle registration at the same time you must call the DMV call center or use form MV-232. If you provide a new address when you renew or replace your driver's license, that transaction does not change the address on your vehicle registration or your title certificate. And thus also providing a new address for your vehicle does not change the address on your driver's license.
The NYS DMV site goes on to give the steps one needs to take by using the USPS mail system or by using the telephone to change the address on your driver's license.
To find out how to change the address on your driver's license check with your state's Department of Motor Vehicles. They will be able to tell you if you can do it online, over the phone, through the mail or will need to come into a DMV office to get your driver's license address changed.