According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV), registrations issued in the name of an individual expire at midnight on the day of their birth date, except for mobile homes and commercial vehicles. Mobile homes expire at midnight on the last day of the month of December. Commercial vehicles expire at midnight on the last day of the month of May (if registered semiannually) or December (for annual registration).
So the registration and license tags on your Florida registered vehicle would expire on your birthday at midnight, and thus need to be renewed before this time.
In Florida, if you do pay your registration fees late there are late fees. Section 320.07(4)(a), Florida Statutes, specifically requires the delinquent fee to be imposed on any applicant who fails to renew a registration before the end of the month in which renewal registration is due.
The delinquent fee is applied beginning on the 11th calendar day of the month succeeding the renewal period. The exact expiration date is shown on the current registration certificate; therefore, the registered owner should be well aware of when their registration expires in Florida.
As we mentioned, Florida Statute 320.07 speaks of expiration of registration for vehicles in Florida. Here it states that a vehicle shall not be operated on the roads of this state after expiration of the renewal period unless the registration has been renewed according to law.
The Florida law goes on to say that any person whose motor vehicle registration has been expired for a period of six months or less commits a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable as a non-moving violation. Any person whose motor vehicle registration has been expired for more than six months shall upon a first offense be subject to the penalties such as paying a civil penalty and delinquent fee, if applicable, either by mail or in person, within 30 days after the date of issuance of the citation.
Therefore, it will depend upon how long your tags had been expired as to what your penalties will be. If they were expired less than six months you should be facing just a traffic infraction, which appears to come with a fine. If, however, you have not renewed your vehicle's registration for over six months than you will be facing harsher penalties.
I've read that the fine for a tag expired less than six months is around $100 and that a tag expired six months or more can come with jail time up to 60 days and/or fine of up to $500. From fine schedules I have seen from around Florida the fine amount for six months or more tends to be around $150 to $200.
Try contacting the clerk of the court listed on your citation if you have been ticketed for expired tags in Florida to find out what your fine amount will be. The clerk of the court should be able to tell you what penalties are normally handed down in the jurisdiction you received the ticket in for this offense and also be able to tell you if getting your plates and registration renewed before your court date can help you reduce your penalties.
When shopping around for state car insurance rates in Florida, make certain to obtain quotes from multiple carriers to find the best price available.