Kansas's most expensive car insurance is found in Kansas City and its suburbs, where drivers pay half again as much for the same coverage as their fellow Kansans in Salina and Manhattan. We've got state car insurance rates for every ZIP code mapped out below -- but in every city and town, the difference between the cheapest insurance company and the most expensive is hundreds of dollars.
Kansas state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability:
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury
Personal injury protection
$4,500 medical/$900 work loss
Kansas Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Invalid ZIP code or data not available
CarInsurance.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services to provide a report of average auto insurance rates for a 2014 Honda Accord for every ZIP code in the United States. We calculated rates using data for six large carriers (Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, Nationwide, Progressive and State Farm).
Averages are based on insurance for a single 40-year-old male who commutes 12 miles to work each day, with policy limits of 100/300/50 ($100,000 for injury liability for one person, $300,000 for all injuries and $50,000 for property damage in an accident) and a $500 deductible on collision and comprehensive coverage. This hypothetical driver has a clean record and good credit. The rate includes uninsured motorist coverage. Average rates are for comparative purposes. Your own rate will depend on your personal factors and vehicle.
Kansas is a no-fault state, which means that you use your own personal injury protection (PIP) coverage if you've been injured in an auto accident, no matter who caused the accident. The PIP coverage required in Kansas is divided into many parts:
$4,500 per person for necessary medical expenses
$900 per month (up to for one year) for loss of income/disability
$25 per day for in-home services (up to one year)
$2,000 for funeral/burial expenses
$4,500 for rehabilitation costs
Survivor benefits of up to $900 per month for one year for loss of income
On top of PIP, Kansas drivers are required to carry liability coverage for damage they inflict on other people and property. The property damage liability minimum is pretty low at $10,000.
If you have savings or a home to protect, we recommend that you bump your limits to 100/300/50.
Beyond no-fault: You (or your family) can seek damages from the at-fault party once your medical bills are over $2,000, if you suffer severe or permanent injuries or if you died as a result of the auto accident.
Insurance needed for registration: Proof of auto insurance that includes the effective and expiration date of the coverage is required when vehicle registration is issued or renewed.
Uninsured motorist penalties for Kansas: You may be fined $300 to $1,000, sentenced to six months in jail and have your license and registration suspended.
No points system: Kansas Driver Control doesn't assign points for traffic violations; however, your license can be suspended if you are convicted of three moving violations in a 12-month period.
Defensive driving discount: State law requires that the principal driver of a vehicle that has voluntarily and successfully completed an approved motor vehicle accident prevention course receive a discount. The Kansas Insurance Commissioner has a list of state-approved defensive-driving courses.
Proof of insurance via smartphone: Kansas is one of 31 states that allow drivers to show electronic proof of insurance during a traffic stop.
Largest car insurance companies for Kansas by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
State Farm Group
Amer Family Insurance Group
Progressive Insurance Group
Farmers Insurance Group
Farm Bureau P&C Group
Allstate Insurance Group
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
Source: A.M. Best market share Rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.