Car insurance in North Dakota is cheapest in Red River country and more expensive toward the Montana border. Comparable state car insurance rates for every city and town in North Dakota are shown below.
North Dakota state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury
Personal injury protection
North Dakota Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Invalid ZIP code or data not available
CarInsurance.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services to provide a report of average auto insurance rates for a 2014 Honda Accord for every ZIP code in the United States. We calculated rates using data for six large carriers (Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, Nationwide, Progressive and State Farm).
Averages are based on insurance for a single 40-year-old male who commutes 12 miles to work each day, with policy limits of 100/300/50 ($100,000 for injury liability for one person, $300,000 for all injuries and $50,000 for property damage in an accident) and a $500 deductible on collision and comprehensive coverage. This hypothetical driver has a clean record and good credit. The rate includes uninsured motorist coverage. Average rates are for comparative purposes. Your own rate will depend on your personal factors and vehicle.
What you need to know about car insurance in North Dakota
Penny Gusner CarInsurance.com Consumer Analyst
North Dakota Car Insurance Laws
North Dakota's minimum liability insurance limits of 25/50/25 may be adequate for motorists without many assets of his or her own. If you own a home and have savings you want to safeguard, we recommend you increase your coverage to 100/300/50 or higher. Remember, liability is what covers you when you harm others in an accident. It does not cover your car or your injuries.
North Dakota is a no-fault state, so you must carry at least $30,000 of personal injury protection (PIP). Regardless of fault, if you're injured in a car crash you claim first against your PIP coverage. Once that limit is exceeded, you would file against the at-fault driver's liability policy.
Incidents affect insurance for three years: Insurance companies in North Dakota will consider traffic offenses when generating rates for no more than three years.
Penalty for driving without insurance: It's a misdemeanor to be an uninsured motorist, and you will receive a fine of at least $150. If you are also in an accident, you will be responsible for the damages you caused others, plus get 14 points assessed against your North Dakota driver's license, which is enough to get your license suspended.
Drivers start earlier: Teens as young as 14 can obtain an instruction permit and at 15 can receive a restricted driver's license. Parents and teens can read up on the requirement and restrictions on the state's Department of Transportation website.
Driving under the influence: Penalties for a DUI in North Dakota are harsh. A first conviction comes with the immediate loss of driver's license, a minimum $250 fine and a mandatory alcohol addiction evaluation. DUIs stay on your record for seven years, but for insurance purposes they last only three years.
Electronic proof of insurance: North Dakota is one of 31 states that allow drivers to show proof of insurance on a smartphone during a traffic stop.
Largest car insurance companies for North Dakota by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
Progressive Insurance Group
State Farm Group
Amer Family Insurance Group
QBE Americas Group
Nodak Mutual Group
Farmers Insurance Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
Auto-Owners Insurance Group
Center Mutual Insurance Company
Source: A.M. Best market share rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.