Vermont state car insurance rates are among the lowest in the country, thanks to its largely rural setting. Even so, finding the cheapest auto insurance will require drivers to shop around. In every ZIP code -- you can see below how all Vermont towns and cities compare -- the spread in rates between carriers can be hundreds of dollars for the same coverage.
Vermont state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury
Uninsured motorist property damage
Vermont Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Invalid ZIP code or data not available
CarInsurance.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services to provide a report of average auto insurance rates for a 2014 Honda Accord for every ZIP code in the United States. We calculated rates using data for six large carriers (Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, Nationwide, Progressive and State Farm).
Averages are based on insurance for a single 40-year-old male who commutes 12 miles to work each day, with policy limits of 100/300/50 ($100,000 for injury liability for one person, $300,000 for all injuries and $50,000 for property damage in an accident) and a $500 deductible on collision and comprehensive coverage. This hypothetical driver has a clean record and good credit. The rate includes uninsured motorist coverage. Average rates are for comparative purposes. Your own rate will depend on your personal factors and vehicle.
What you need to know about car insurance in Vermont
Penny Gusner CarInsurance.com Consumer Analyst
Vermont Car Insurance Laws
Vermont's required minimum liability insurance is low compared with most states, especially for property damage. Most late-model cars are worth much more than the $10,000 that Vermont requires you carry.
A family with savings and a home should consider coverage of 100/300/50: $100,000 in bodily injury liability ($300,000 per accident) and $50,000 in property damage liability.
Vermont requires car owners to have uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage as well, both for bodily injury and for property damage. While this coverage is very helpful, it does not cover your car repairs or your medical bills if you are the at-fault driver. It only covers that if you are hit by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
No texting. They mean it: While almost all states prohibit driver texting, Vermont is one of the few attaching points to driver's licenses for a conviction. The first offense is worth two points; the second is worth five. If you are cited for texting after an at-fault accident, it's an additional two points.
Vermont uninsured motorist penalties: You may be fined $47 to $622 and assessed two points.
No pizza delivery: Vermont limits the driving of teens with a Junior Operator's License. For the first year, or until you turn 18, you can't drive as part of your job.
Largest car insurance companies for Vermont by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
Progressive Insurance Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
State Farm Group
Allstate Insurance Group
Concord Group Insurance Pool
Hartford Insurance Group
VT Mutual Group
Source: A.M. Best market share rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.