A first time DUI offender with a .08 BAC in Tennessee can receive penalties such as:
- 48 hours to 11 months, 29 days of jail time
- .20 BAC or greater gets you a minimum jail sentence of 7 consecutive days
- license revocation for 1 year
- ordered to participate in a DUI school
- pay restoration if any person suffered physical injury or personal loss
- $350 to $1500 in fines
- Judge can order you to install a vehicle interlock device on your car at your expense
In Tennessee, the Department of Safety keeps records of traffic violations and accidents for each TN driver. These records are based on reports forwarded to the Department of Safety by the courts and through reports of traffic accidents submitted by investigating officers.
The TN DMV site does not mention how long certain offenses stay on your driving record or if any violations will ever be removed or taken off. It mentions in the TN driver's handbook that after the first conviction for DUI that you can obtain a restricted license under certain provisions, one is that you have not had a prior conviction of a DUI within 10 years, so it would appear that a DUI stay with you for at least that length of time.
I would suggest to find out how long a DUI or any other violation recorded on your Tennessee driving record will be stay on it to contact the TN Department of Safety through their site or on the phone at (615) 251-5166.