Small cities and long distances mean Wyoming drivers spend a lot of time in their cars in conditions that can turn mean any month of the year. Below you'll find details about what Wyoming requires in the way of car insurance and a comparison of state car insurance rates in every ZIP code in the state.
Wyoming state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
Wyoming Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Invalid ZIP code or data not available
CarInsurance.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services to provide a report of average auto insurance rates for a 2014 Honda Accord for every ZIP code in the United States. We calculated rates using data for six large carriers (Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, Nationwide, Progressive and State Farm).
Averages are based on insurance for a single 40-year-old male who commutes 12 miles to work each day, with policy limits of 100/300/50 ($100,000 for injury liability for one person, $300,000 for all injuries and $50,000 for property damage in an accident) and a $500 deductible on collision and comprehensive coverage. This hypothetical driver has a clean record and good credit. The rate includes uninsured motorist coverage. Average rates are for comparative purposes. Your own rate will depend on your personal factors and vehicle.
Seat belt use is mandatory. In 2010, the state of Wyoming notes, two-thirds of those killed in traffic accidents were not wearing their safety belts. Among pickup truck drivers, 95 percent were unbelted.
Shop around: Wyoming ranks among the top 10 states in the country for potential savings on car insurance. In our study of six national insurance companies, a Wyoming driver could save 44 percent off the average rate by comparing multiple companies.
Wyoming uninsured motorist penalties: You may be fined up to $750 and be sentenced to six months in jail and your license and registration may be suspended.
No points: Wyoming doesn't use a driver's license points system to determine who should lose the right to drive, as most other states do. But a conviction for a DUI or reckless driving, leaving the scene of an accident or driving without mandatory insurance will bring a 90-day suspension or worse. Three moving violations in a 12-month period will do the trick, too.
Child-support suspension: As in many other states, a driver can lose his or her driving privileges if child support payments are in arrears. In Wyoming, a driver's license is suspended once the total owed is $5,000 or more and kept suspended until the debt is paid in full.
Proof of insurance via smartphone: Wyoming law allows drivers to show electronic proof of insurance during a traffic stop. Thirty-one states total allow this.
Know the code: The prefix on a Wyoming license plate discloses the driver's county of residence, with counties numbered from 1 to 23. Here's a guide: 1: Natrona; 2: Laramie; 3: Sheridan; 4: Sweetwater; 5: Albany; 6: Carbon; 7: Goshen; 8: Platte; 9: Big Horn; 10: Fremont; 11: Park; 12: Lincoln; 13: Converse; 14: Niobrara; 15: Hot Springs; 16: Johnson; 17: Campbell; 18: Crook; 19: Uinta; 20: Washakie; 21: Weston; 22: Teton; 23: Sublette.
Largest car insurance companies for Wyoming by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
State Farm Group
Progressive Insurance Group
Farmers Insurance Group
Mountain West Insurance Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Allstate Insurance Group
Sentry Insurance Group
Source: A.M. Best market share rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.