The state of Maryland follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages. You should be aware that the details of a tort system vary from state to state and it is best to check with your state insurance regulator. Visit our State Insurance Regulators page for a list of links to all the state insurance regulators websites.
Maryland state law requires minimum Bodily Injury Liability coverage of $20,000 per injured person up to a total of $40,000 per accident, and Property Damage Liability coverage with a minimum limit of $15,000. This basic coverage is often referred to as 20/40/15 coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in your coverage helps pay for "reasonable and necessary" medical expenses for you and your passengers. While Maryland state law does not require a minimum Personal Injury Protection, you will have to decline it in writing. Some people do waive PIP coverage because they reason that they have health insurance to pay for their bills. PIP is valuable coverage that you should consider keeping. PIP pays for lost wages as a result of your injury.Health insurance does not pay lost wages.Additionally PIP coverage pays for passenger medical costs, your health insurance will not pay your passengers medical costs.
To help protect against damages caused to you and your passengers by an uninsured driver, Maryland state law requires a minimum UnInsured/UnderInsured Motorist coverage of $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident for any bodily injury caused by the uninsured driver.
Learn more about
Maryland Car Insurance on our state pages.