According to information from the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (HSMV), Florida motorists can be required to provide this Department with proof of PIP/property damage liability insurance coverage based on cancellations of coverage, accidents involving property damages where no proof of coverage was evidenced at the scene, when registering or renewing a vehicle registration, and court-ordered suspensions. Keep in mind that if the PIP law sunsets in Florida as of October 1, 2007 then the exact coverages required for the SR-22 will also likely change.
The 3 years begins from the date you first get the SR-22 and maintain continuous coverage. If during those 3 years you allow the SR-22 to cancel, then the 3 year period starts from the date you begin again.
When the SR-22, financial responsibility filing, is received by the Department, this insurance information is added to the financial responsibility database.
The reasons that an SR-22 can be required in Florida vary as well as the time period that one must maintain this certificate of financial responsibility. In general, the time period for carrying the SR-22 begins at the notification date or suspension date. One example of why an SR-22 is required and for how long is noted below.
Court-ordered suspensions are produced when the HSMV receives an order directing suspension of the named person. These suspensions are based on a violation of s. 316.646, F.S., and sent to the Department when the named person fails to provide the proper coverage to the court.
This type case is unique in that the person suspended will always be required to pay the reinstatement fee regardless of the status of coverage at the time of the court suspension unless the customer can provide proof of compulsory insurance on all owned vehicles or submits evidence that he/she is not subject to the law, affidavit of non-ownership, or no tag affidavit.
If the customer is found to be subject to the law, they must show proof of current PIP and property damage liability coverage, certified on a 6-month non-cancelable SR-22 for 2 years from original suspension date, and pay a reinstatement fee of $150, $250 or $500, whichever is applicable.
Since the time period for carrying an SR-22 can vary so can the start date, thus we would advise you to contact the FL HSMV to find out the when the 3 year time period started for your requirement to carry the SR22.