Car insurance rates for Maryland drivers range from shocking in Baltimore to downright cheap in hilly Western Maryland. Where you live makes a lot of difference -- we've got comparable rates for every town and city in a map below -- but so does the insurance company you choose. Even in the same town, the difference in rates is usually hundreds of dollars.
Maryland state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury
Uninsured motorist property damage
Personal injury protection
$2,500 (can be waived)
Maryland Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Invalid ZIP code or data not available
CarInsurance.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services to provide a report of average auto insurance rates for a 2014 Honda Accord for every ZIP code in the United States. We calculated rates using data for six large carriers (Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, Nationwide, Progressive and State Farm).
Averages are based on insurance for a single 40-year-old male who commutes 12 miles to work each day, with policy limits of 100/300/50 ($100,000 for injury liability for one person, $300,000 for all injuries and $50,000 for property damage in an accident) and a $500 deductible on collision and comprehensive coverage. This hypothetical driver has a clean record and good credit. The rate includes uninsured motorist coverage. Average rates are for comparative purposes. Your own rate will depend on your personal factors and vehicle.
What you need to know about car insurance in Maryland
Penny Gusner CarInsurance.com Consumer Analyst
Maryland Car Insurance Laws
Maryland's minimum liability limits for bodily injury compare well with other states', but anyone with a house or savings should consider increasing their liability insurance coverage across the board. Any damage you do that exceeds your limits becomes your problem, not your insurance company's.
While Maryland is not considered a no-fault state, it requires purchase of personal injury protection (PIP) of $2,500. You may be able to waive it if you have adequate health insurance coverage; ask your insurer.
Keep in mind, though, that PIP also pays lost wages, something your health insurance policy will not.
Will a violation in another state carry over to a Maryland driving record? Yes. Any type of violation (speeding, no registration, no insurance, etc.) that occurs in another state will affect your Maryland driving record. Penalties such as driver's license points or an increased insurance rate will be the same as if the violation occurred within Maryland state borders.
Mopeds need insurance, too: Mopeds and motor scooters must be titled and insured with the same level of liability and uninsured motorist as a passenger vehicle.
Too many claims?: Maryland car insurance carriers can cancel or nonrenew your policy if within the past three years you have filed two or more claims for at-fault accidents or three or more not-at-fault claims (e.g. comprehensive, uninsured motorist or PIP claims).
Besides for the claims mentioned above, auto insurers can also non-renew your policy due to:
Fraud or material misrepresentation or violating the insurer's underwriting rules
Had within the last three years any combination of three at-fault accidents claims or moving violations
Were convicted of being under the influence, homicide, assault, reckless endangerment, criminal negligence arising out of the operation of your vehicle, or using a motor vehicle to participate in a felony act within the last three years
If within the last two years you had your license or registration revoked or suspended related to your driving record
Had three or more moving violations within the last two years
Your credit history: Maryland does not allow insurance companies to deny you coverage, cancel your policy or raise your rates midterm based on your credit. But companies can use your credit to calculate your initial rates and must tell you if you are paying more than you otherwise would.
Uninsured motorist penalties for Maryland: You may be fined up to $1,000, be sentenced to six months in jail, have your registration suspended, your plates confiscated and be assessed 5 points.
FR-19 Form: The FR-19 form is used in some states, primarily Delaware and Maryland, as proof of insurance. The FR-19 is a certification that the vehicle has been continuously insured since the verification date and that coverage is presently in force.
In Maryland, normally when you register or renew a vehicle registration, you must sign an insurance certification. Your signature acknowledges that the minimum vehicle liability insurance will be maintained throughout the registration period and the vehicle will not be driven without insurance.
Largest car insurance companies in Maryland by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
Berkshire Hathaway Ins
State Farm Group
Allstate Ins Group
Erie Ins Group
Progressive Ins Group
Liberty Mutual Ins Cos
MD Automobile Ins Fund
Source: A.M. Best market share rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.