Car insurance in hilly, beautiful West Virginia can be among the most expensive in the country. Insurance rates in coal country, in West Virginia's southwest corner, often are nearly double those paid by an identical driver in another part of the state. You'll find state car insurance rates for every ZIP code mapped below.
Effective January 1, 2016, West Virginia state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
Uninsured motorist bodily injury
Uninsured motorist property damage
West Virginia Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Invalid ZIP code or data not available
CarInsurance.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services to provide a report of average auto insurance rates for a 2014 Honda Accord for every ZIP code in the United States. We calculated rates using data for six large carriers (Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, Nationwide, Progressive and State Farm).
Averages are based on insurance for a single 40-year-old male who commutes 12 miles to work each day, with policy limits of 100/300/50 ($100,000 for injury liability for one person, $300,000 for all injuries and $50,000 for property damage in an accident) and a $500 deductible on collision and comprehensive coverage. This hypothetical driver has a clean record and good credit. The rate includes uninsured motorist coverage. Average rates are for comparative purposes. Your own rate will depend on your personal factors and vehicle.
What you need to know about car insurance in West Virginia
Penny Gusner CarInsurance.com Consumer Analyst
West Virginia Car Insurance Laws
West Virginia mandates that motorists buy $25,000 worth of bodily injury liability coverage (up to $50,000 per accident) and $25,000 worth of property damage liability coverage as well.
Those minimum limits for liability insurance are low compared with other states, perhaps not enough to protect a driver who owns a home or has other assets. Even a minor accident involving a newer car can cost more than $10,000 to fix or exceed $20,000 in medical bills.
The state also requires drivers to buy uninsured motorist coverage for both bodily injury and property damage. About 11 percent of West Virginia drivers are uninsured, according to the Insurance Research Council.
West Virginia uninsured motorist penalties: You may be fined $200 to $5,000 and be sentenced to 15 days to one year in jail. Your license and registration may be suspended.
Watch out during deer season: Your odds of hitting a deer are higher in West Virginia than in any other state: 1 in 39, according to data gathered by State Farm. The damage isn't covered unless you buy comprehensive coverage.
Riding shotgun: Among the offenses that can add two points to your West Virginia driver's license: having more than three passengers in the front seat.
Defensive-driving classes: Drivers can remove three points from their motor vehicle records by taking a state-approved defensive-driving class, but only once every two years. Suspensions begin when 12 or more points have accumulated; points drop off after two years but notices of the conviction remain for five.
Largest car insurance companies for West Virginia by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
State Farm Group
Erie Insurance Group
Allstate Insurance Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
Progressive Insurance Group
Liberty Mutual Insurance Companies
Hartford Insurance Group
Source: A.M. Best market share rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.