Nebraska’s largest city, Omaha, has the most costly state car insurance rates, but its second-largest city, Lincoln, has the cheapest. You can see every city and town in Nebraska mapped out below. No matter where you live, the difference between car insurance companies can be hundreds of dollars.
Nebraska state law requires the following minimum car insurance coverage:
Minimum bodily injury liability
Minimum property damage liability
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury
Nebraska Car Insurance Rates by ZIP Code & City
Invalid ZIP code or data not available
CarInsurance.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services to provide a report of average auto insurance rates for a 2014 Honda Accord for every ZIP code in the United States. We calculated rates using data for six large carriers (Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, Nationwide, Progressive and State Farm).
Averages are based on insurance for a single 40-year-old male who commutes 12 miles to work each day, with policy limits of 100/300/50 ($100,000 for injury liability for one person, $300,000 for all injuries and $50,000 for property damage in an accident) and a $500 deductible on collision and comprehensive coverage. This hypothetical driver has a clean record and good credit. The rate includes uninsured motorist coverage. Average rates are for comparative purposes. Your own rate will depend on your personal factors and vehicle.
What you need to know about car insurance in Nebraska
Penny Gusner CarInsurance.com Consumer Analyst
Nebraska Car Insurance Laws
Nebraska’s basic liability car insurance requirements of $25,000 bodily injury liability per person and $50,000 per accident, plus $25,000 for property damage liability, are substantial enough to protect many drivers. If you have assets such as a business, home or savings, you should consider increasing those limits to match.
Alternative forms of financial responsibility: Besides a Nebraska auto insurance policy, state laws provide that it’s acceptable for motorists to show proof of financial responsibility with one of the following:
Bond of $75,000 issued by a surety company authorized in Nebraska
Property bond conditioned for the payment of up to $75,000
Certificate of deposit or money or securities of $75,000
Certificate of self-insurance issued by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
Proof required for registration: To register your vehicle, you must have acceptable proof of financial responsibility.
Uninsured motorist penalties for Nebraska: If caught driving without insurance in Nebraska, you may be fined up to $1,000, your license and registration may be suspended, you may be sentenced to six months in jail and you could be required to file an SR-22 form.
School permit for young teens: At 14 years 2 months a teenager can request a permit that will allow the individual to drive a motor vehicle, moped or motorcycle to and from school if the teenager meets very specific conditions described on the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles website. Otherwise a teen must wait until age 15 to get a learner’s permit.
Largest car insurance companies for Nebraska by market share
Company / Group
Direct Premiums Written ($)
Market Share (%)
State Farm Group
Progressive Insurance Group
Farmers Mutual Insurance Company of NE
Amer Family Insurance Group
Farm Bureau P&C Group
Farmers Insurance Group
Berkshire Hathaway Insurance
Allstate Insurance Group
Source: A.M. Best market share Rankings are based on direct premiums written in 2013.