In Indiana one has to buy a State minimum liability coverage of $25,000/$50,000/$10,000. These amounts stand for coverages one has to buy of:
- at least $25,000 worth liability coverage for bodily injury to 1 person.
- at least $50,000 worth liability coverage for all bodily injuries.
- at least $10,000 worth liability coverage for property damage.
The IN Department of Insurance notes that each newly written Indiana auto liability policy must include uninsured and under insured motorists coverages, unless you reject this in writing. Minimum liability limits are:
- Uninsured Motorists: Bodily Injury: $25,000/$50,000
- Property Damage: $10,000
- Under insured Motorists: Bodily Injury: $50,000
The Indiana driver's manual states that driving without a valid liability insurance policy in effect on the vehicle you are operating is against the law. Operating a vehicle without insurance coverage is a Class A infraction.
To attempt to deter uninsured motorists, Indiana law provides sanctions to be placed against those found to be operating a vehicle without the proper insurance.
A person who operates a vehicle in Indiana without an automobile liability insurance policy in effect is subject to a 90 day driver license suspension or a one year suspension if it is a repeat violation in a three year period. In order to obtain a reinstatement of the license, the person must pay a reinstatement fee of $150, $225, or $300 depending on whether it is a first, second, third or subsequent offense, and provide current proof of insurance signed by an agent or representative of the insurance company.
For a quote on Indiana auto insurance click here.