We contacted the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to find out what the minimum age is that one can be the sole owner of a car in SC. The SC DMV representative told us that at age seventeen (17) years of age one can have sole ownership of a vehicle and register it with them.
According to the SC DMV when you purchase a new or used vehicle in South Carolina, you may either purchase a new plate for your vehicle or transfer a plate from a vehicle you already own. You have 45 days to title and register your vehicle from the date of purchase.
If you are a first-time registrant, you will need to take your title or current registration to the county auditor's office in order to receive a tax bill. The amount due is paid to the county treasurer who will issue a paid vehicle property tax receipt.
When registering your vehicle, you must provide the name of your insurance company and policy number. If you are issued a driver's license for the first time in South Carolina, you will be required to provide vehicle insurance information. This is where it may be difficult for a teenager to register a car on their own since most insurance companies in SC, and elsewhere in the US, will not sell a policy to a minor without a parent or guardian signing on it with them since it is a legal contract.
The minimum limits of auto insurance Liability coverages in South Carolina are limits of 25/50/25. This includes $25,000 Bodily Injury per person, $50,000 Bodily Injury per accident, and $25,000 Property Damage per accident. In South Carolina, state law requires that your policy include Uninsured Motorist (UM). Also, SC state law requires that insurance companies offer you the option of purchasing Underinsured Motorist (UIM) up to your limits of Liability.
For South Carolina car insurance you can get a low cost quote here with us.