If you are convicted of careless driving in Louisiana it will be placed on your LA driving record just as any other moving violation would. Louisiana Revised Statutes (RS) 32:58 speaks about careless operation of a motor vehicle. Here it states that any person operating a motor vehicle on the public roads of this state shall drive in a careful and prudent manner, so as not to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person. Failure to drive in such a manner shall constitute careless operation.
The Louisiana driver's handbook notes that the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) keeps a public record of all your traffic convictions and accidents for five years. Though the OMV site itself notes that the following violations will appear on your Official Driving Record (ODR) and that the retention period for violations various depending on the type of violation.
- DWI, Vehicle Negligent Injury and Out-of-Service convictions remain on the record for 10 years from the date of conviction.
- Other major traffic convictions (suspendable/disqualifying violations) remain on the record for 5 years from the date of conviction.
- Minor traffic convictions remain on the record for 3 years from the date of conviction.
- Accidents that are suspended for Financial Responsibility remain on the record until the accident is reinstated.
So it may be that your ODR will keep the careless driving for 3 years while the OMV itself keeps a record of it for 5 years. If you receive excessive or serious moving violations, you may lose your driving privileges in Louisiana.
A careless driving or careless operation violation conviction in LA could also affect your insurance rates depending upon your insurer's rating system. You can check with your insurance agent or the Louisiana insurance regulator where your insurer's rating system would be filed with the state to find out how a careless driving ticket could affect your insurance premiums.