The state of Michigan has a point system in which each traffic violation has a point value, which is set by law in the Michigan Vehicle Code. Points are assessed and placed on your driving record after you have been convicted or found guilty of or responsible for a civil infraction. Points placed on your driver record (MVR) remain there for 2 years.
The amount of points in which it takes for an insurance company to classify you an unsafe driver will depend on the individual insurance company since companies vary on how they use these infractions to determine your rates or if you are a high risk driver. To find out about your insurance company's rating system you can contact them or your state's insurance regulator since rates must be filed with this agency.
Remember MI has decided that if you accumulate 7 or more qualifying points on your driving record or are convicted of specific traffic offenses you will have to take part in the Driver Responsibility Program. So it is important to keep points low not only for insurance reasons but so that you will not have to pay out for this fee which could range from $100 to $1000.