Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753

Q&A

Over 10,000 questions asked & answered

 
Hi Penny!

Answering your CarInsurance.com questions since 2005

Q

How long do points stay on your driving record or on your driving license?


A

How long points for traffic offenses stay on your driving record depends on what state you are residing in and have your driver's license in. You will need to check with your specific state's department of motor vehicles to find out what your state laws guidelines are for points staying on your driving record.

Here are some examples to see how it varies by state:

In Wisconsin traffic violation convictions remain on the driver's record for 5 years from the date of conviction, unless it is alcohol related then is left on the record for 55 years. If you have a commercial license citation convictions can stay on your driving license for 10 years to life.

Massachusetts allows for points to remain on your record for 6 years. Criminal offenses though stay on your record for life.

Michigan only allows points to remain on a driving record for 2 years after the conviction date.

Toronto, Canada, your driving conviction can be looked at on your record for 3 years but stays on the record for another year before being taken completely off.

[Let CarInsurance.com help you find affordable auto insurance now.]

Utah's points system allows for when you drive one full year without a moving traffic violation conviction, for one-half your accumulated points to be removed from your driving record. If you drive two straight years without a conviction, all points are deleted. Otherwise, individual convictions are automatically removed 3 years after the date of the violation.

Add a comment of your state and we will try to find the information you need!

Comment Update: For Sourth Carolina, call (803) 896-5000 to answer your question. Their Call Center is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM.


Categories:


Comments

Tell us what you think about this answer

Leave a Comment
(required)
(required; won't be published)
 
 
 
17 Responses to "How long do points stay on your driving record or on your driving license?"
  1. Anonymous

    It is the exact informaion I wanted

      Reply»  
  2. Anonymous

    According to Vermont DMV/AOT if you where pulled over in another state with a Vermont drivers licence, The points on your licence do not carry over from another state to your Vermont drivers licence. The violation does go on your record though. In other words, If you had a Vermont drivers licence and was pulled over out of state the only thing you would get is the ticket/violation and it put on your record, No points on your licence for out of state violations.

      Reply»  
  3. Anonymous

    For MI, at least 5 years.

      Reply»  
  4. Anonymous

    VA

      Reply»  
  5. Anonymous

    ho long does your DL get suspended for in va for unpaid speeding ticket

      Reply»  
  6. Anonymous

    In Texas, how do you get a revoked class c dirvers license? What does this mean? How can I fix it?

      Reply»  
  7. Anonymous

    How long does a violation stay on your driving record in Illinois?

      Reply»  
  8. Anonymous

    I am in GA, and apparently there is some discretion by courts if you have "no contest" etc, whether it gets on the record. It may also depend on whether one has to appear in city or district court. I wish you could find out.

      Reply»  
  9. Anonymous

    crap crap crap

      Reply»  
  10. Anonymous

    ahhhhhhhhhhh

      Reply»  
  11. Anonymous

    need to add Ga

      Reply»  
  12. Anonymous

    you answer my question thanks

      Reply»  
  13. Anonymous

    As for Wisconsin they stay on your record for 5 years from the violation date if you are convicted of it, NOT conviction date, just wanted to clarify that, as for minor violations, Major , violations, as a whole diffrent ball game, depending on nature and type. Thanks

      Reply»  
  14. Anonymous

    How do I find out what South Carolinas rule is concerning how long points stay on a license. The SC DMV website was not helpful.

      Reply»  
  15. Anonymous

    How do I find out what South Carolinas rule is concerning how long points stay on a license. SCs dmv website was not helpful.

      Reply»  
  16. Anonymous

    need to add more states

      Reply»  
  17. Anonymous

    I would think they should have the answer on more states.

      Reply»