dcsimg
Call Us Toll Free: 1-855-430-7753
Get Personalized Car Insurance Quotes
Age
Currently Insured

State car insurance rates

By

Every state has its own car insurance laws, and that means car insurance rates change dramatically across the country. See the average annual car insurance for each state. Click on your state to find out:

  • Average rates by ZIP code
  • Minimum insurance requirements
  • Laws specific to your state
  • Largest car insurance companies in your state

Washington Idaho Montana North Dakota Minnesota Wisconsin Michigan Oregon Wyoming South Dakota Iowa Illinois Indiana Ohio California Nevada Utah Colorado Nebraska Kansas Missouri Kentucky Arizona New Mexico Texas Oklahoma Arkansas Louisiana Mississippi Tennessee Alabama Georgia Florida West Virginia Maryland Pennsylvania New York Vermont New Hampshire Maine Massachusetts Rhode Island Connecticut New Jersey Delaware Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Alaska Hawaii Washington DC DE VT NJ RI CT NH MA MD DC

StateAverage rateCompared to national averageRank (most expensive to least expensive)
Alabama $1,230 +$6 24
Alaska $1,209 -$15 27
Arizona $1,021 -$203 39
Arkansas $1,289 +$65 18
California $1,433 +$209 10
Colorado $1,116 -$108 31
Connecticut $1,527 +$303 8
Delaware $1,617 +$393 6
District of Columbia $1,630 +$406 4
Florida $1,402 +$178 12
Georgia $1,161 -$63 28
Hawaii $1,084 -$140 34
Idaho $831 -$393 48
Illinois $1,001 -$223 40
Indiana $891 -$333 46
Iowa $951 -$273 41
Kansas $1,153 -$71 30
Kentucky $1,484 +$260 9
Louisiana $1,657 +$433 3
Maine $763 -$461 51
Maryland $1,258 +$34 20
Massachusetts $1,302 +$78 17
Michigan $2,226 +$1,002 1
Minnesota $1,273 +$49 19
Mississippi $1,223 -$1 25
Missouri $1,074 -$150 36
Montana $1,320 +$96 16
Nebraska $1,069 -$155 37
Nevada $1,351 +$127 15
New Hampshire $864 -$360 47
New Jersey $1,239 +$15 22
New Mexico $1,160 -$64 29
New York $1,542 +$318 7
North Carolina $800 -$424 49
North Dakota $1,382 +$158 14
Ohio $771 -$453 50
Oklahoma $1,396 +$172 13
Oregon $1,063 -$161 38
Pennsylvania $1,210 -$14 26
Rhode Island $2,000 +$776 2
South Carolina $1,109 -$115 32
South Dakota $1,077 -$147 35
Tennessee $1,230 +$6 23
Texas $1,411 +$187 11
Utah $930 -$294 42
Vermont $915 -$309 43
Virginia $899 -$325 45
Washington $1,085 -$139 33
West Virginia $1,626 +$402 5
Wisconsin $908 -$316 44
Wyoming $1,242 +$18 21
National Average $1,224

Nearly everything having to do with car insurance depends heavily on your state. The resources linked below will help you understand specific laws that may or may not affect you.

What is a tort state?: Thirty-eight states use the tort system, which means that someone is found at fault for every accident that involves car insurance, even if the fault is determined to be 50/50 between two drivers.

What is a no-fault state?: Under the no-fault system, car insurance companies pay for certain damages regardless of who was at fault. Laws vary among the 12 states that have no-fault insurance.

No pay, no play states: In states with “no pay, no play” laws, driving without insurance is even more risky than in other states. Uninsured drivers in these states are not compensated for any damage, even in accidents that are not their fault.

Which states share speeding ticket information?: Many states have formal agreements with each other, such as the Drivers License Compact and the Non-Resident Violator Compact, to share information regarding traffic tickets when drivers are ticketed out of state.


Comments

Tell us your thoughts

Leave a Comment
 
 
 
0 Responses to "State car insurance rates"
Disclaimer: Answers and comments provided are for information purposes. They are not intended to substitute informed professional advice. These responses should not be interpreted as a recommendation to buy or sell any insurance product, or to provide financial or legal advice. Please refer to your insurance policy for specific coverage and exclusion information. Please read our Terms of Service.