North Carolina and South Carolina are both members of the Drivers License Compact (DLC) which means that NC will send your home state of SC information regarding this ticket if you pay and are convicted of it.
The South Carolina Motor Vehicle Code allows for out of state violation convictions to be recorded against the SC licensed driver if the violation matches up to a violation in South Carolina. South Carolina does have a move over law, under section 56-5-1538 of the SC motor vehicle code.
In South Carolina, I also did not see a points assessment for this violation but you should check with the SC DMV to be certain. Since this NC violation will show up on your SC driving record, your insurance company could see it next time they pull your MVR.
According to the South Carolina Department of Insurance, all insurance companies use a uniform merit rating system for auto insurance purposes. It is based on convictions for moving violations and/or accidents.
The first point assigned to each vehicle eliminates the safe driver discount. Each point in excess of one has an annual surcharge of $20 for liability and $20 for collision. The merit rating system is different than the DMVs driver license points so check with the SC DOI to get more information on this merit points system and see if your will get a point assigned for our the out of state move over violation.