Question: How much is an uninsured and unregistered ticket in New York? What is the fine for being without insurance or registration?
Answer: A ticket for driving without insurance or registration for a vehicle will have two fines associated with it, one for each violation of the New York law.
Driving without registration or with expired registration in New York State is a violation of NY Vehicle and Traffic Code section 401.
New York Vehicle and Traffic law 401 states in part 1 (a) No motor vehicle shall be operated or driven upon the public highways of this state without first being registered in accordance with the provisions of this article.
Later in section 401 of NYS law it notes that an unregistered car can be receive penalties of a fine of not less than $75 nor more than $300 or by imprisonment for not more than 15 days or both the fine and jail time. If the violation consists of failure to renew a registration which was valid within 60 days, the fine shall be not less than $40.
Driving without insurance is also illegal in New York and would come with its own separate fine and penalty then the portion of a ticket that is for being without proper registration on a vehicle.
NYS law requires you to surrender your vehicle plates to the NYSDMV before there is a lapse in your liability insurance. If you do not surrender your vehicle plates, the DMV will suspend your registration and driver's license.
If you are convicted of operating an uninsured motor vehicle or permitting another person to be operate your uninsured vehicle, your license will be revoked for at least one year. The same penalty applies if the Department of Motor Vehicles receives evidence that you were involved in an accident without being insured.
Some revocations require you to pay a civil penalty before your application can be accepted for a new license. This includes revocations for No Insurance or Uninsured Accident. These violations come with a $750 civil penalty.
The civil penalty is an additional monetary payment over the normal fine amount. NYS Vehicle and Traffic law 319 notes that being caught without insurance is a traffic infraction and upon conviction you may be fined not less than $150 or more than $1500 or may be imprisoned for not more than 15 days or both the fine and jail time.
Here are the sections of law 319 that may be of interest to you.
1. Any owner of a motor vehicle registered in this state, or an unregistered motor vehicle, who shall operate such motor vehicle or permit it to be operated in this state without having in full force and effect the financial security required by the provisions of this chapter and any other person who shall operate in this state any motor vehicle registered in this state, or an unregistered motor vehicle, with the knowledge that the owner thereof does not have in full force and effect such proof of financial security, except a person who, at the time of operation of such motor vehicle, had in effect an operator's policy of liability insurance, as defined in section three hundred eighteen, with respect to his operation of such vehicle shall be guilty of a traffic infraction and upon conviction may be fined not less than one hundred fifty dollars or more than one thousand five hundred dollars or may be imprisoned for not more than fifteen days or both. In addition to the penalties herein set forth, such person, upon conviction, shall also become liable for payment to the department of the civil penalty provided in subdivision five of this section
3. Every person who operates a vehicle registered in this state, or a vehicle required to be registered in this state, shall, when required by the commissioner's regulations, produce an insurance identification card when requested by any peace officer, acting pursuant to his special duties, police officer or magistrate. The failure to so produce such a card shall be presumptive evidence that such person was operating the vehicle without having in effect financial security required by the provisions of this chapter
5. The civil penalty for a violation of subdivision one of this section shall be seven hundred fifty dollars.
The NYS DMV will be able to give you more information on the penalties for being uninsured and unregistered. Or if you were cited for these offenses try contacting the court listed on the ticket for information on the penalties you would receive if convicted of these violations of NYS law.