In Pennsylvania, points are added to a driving record when the driver is found guilty of certain driving violations. PennDot begins to take corrective action when a driving record reaches 6 or more points.
If you are under 18, your driving privilege will be suspended if you accumulate 6 or more points or are convicted of driving 26 mph or more over the posted speed limit. The first suspension will be for 90 days.
Drivers over 18 can have their driver's license suspended for 15 days or more if they accumulated 6 or more. The driver will also have to take special examinations that must be passed. The more times within your lifetime that you accumulate 6 points the harsher the penalties become.
If you were speeding excessively, 31 or more mph over the speed limit, you will receive 5 points and be required to attend a departmental hearing. After the hearing, you might receive a 15 day suspension or have to take a special road test or both. Failure to appear at the hearing results in a 60 day license suspension.
If you were cited for speeding excessively and for a second moving violation with points assigned to it, you will have accumulated 6 points and have both types of penalties to deal with.
For more information regarding the PA points system you can contact the Pennsylvania Driver and Vehicles Services.