Question: How long do points stay on a New Jersey license? I have two tickets from five years ago still on my abstract.
the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) tracks motorist traffic violations and resulting penalties through a point system. If you are convicted of a moving violation, MVC will penalize you by adding points to your driving record. The NJ MVC keeps a permanent record of the points you’ve earned; however, you can decrease or eliminate your points by remaining violation and suspension-free for one year or by taking qualified driving courses approved by MVC.
In NJ, if you get six or more points within three years on your driving record, you will be charged a $150 surcharge and then $25 for every point received after six. Your license will be suspended if you get 12 or more points. You will receive a notice of scheduled suspension by mail.
You will only get points on your record for moving violations, such as improper passing, speeding, failure to yield or stop, reckless driving, etc. Points are not assessed for parking and other violations.
Ways in which to get point deductions:
- One year with no violations or suspensions can result in three points being reduced. The year begins on date of violation or most recent license restoration.
- Taking a Defensive Driving Program can result in a two-point deduction. This may be used to subtract points once every five years.
- Taking a Driver Improvement Program can reduce your point count by three. This may be used to subtract points once every two years.
- Probationary Driver Program may result in a three-point deduction.
Your insurance company might not factor these deductions into your insurance rate, so you might still see a relatively high liability insurance rate.
Motor vehicle points can be reduced or deducted from your accumulative point total that counts toward a license suspension. However, they will remain as part of your New Jersey driving record.
Resources & Methodology
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. “FAQ.” Accessed December 2022.
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. “New Jersey Points Schedule.” Accessed December 2022.
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. “Suspensions & Restorations.” Accessed December 2022.
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission. “Surcharges.” Accessed December 2022.
Why you can trust us
The CarInsurance.com editorial team bases its reporting on data commissioned Quadrant Information Services to report average auto insurance rates for more than 34K ZIP codes across the United States. Typically, averages are based on rates for a single, 40-year-old male, with no violations and who commutes 12 miles to work each day and has a full-coverage policy with limits of 100/300/100 and a $500 deductible for collision and comprehensive coverage.