As it appears you are aware, the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles will not allow you to get a new title certificate and registration for a rebuilt salvage vehicle until the vehicle passes an examination by the DMV. This requirement includes vehicles that have a NYS Salvage Certificate (MV-907A) for proof of ownership, and also rebuilt salvage vehicles from most other states.
If a salvage vehicle is rebuilt for use on roadways, the DMV must examine it before the DMV can issue a new title certificate or registration. Since May 1999 any NYS title certificate issued for a rebuilt salvage vehicle displays the brand, Rebuilt Salvage.
According to the NYS DMV, the salvage vehicle examination is not a safety inspection, an emissions inspection, or an insurance examination. The salvage vehicle examination is a separate and additional examination conducted by DMV investigators. The NYS DMV Division of Field Investigations Auto Theft Unit administers the Salvage Vehicle Examination Program.
NYS law requires the salvage vehicle examination to determine if a rebuilt salvage vehicle is stolen or includes stolen parts. The salvage vehicle examination program:
- protects consumers,
- finds stolen items, and
- prevents the theft of vehicles and vehicle parts.
To prepare you and your vehicle for inspection first make sure that you have the documents and the proofs described on form MV-899 (Application for Salvage Vehicle Examination) which is available online at the NYS DMV website.
Make sure that your vehicle is safe for use on the road. If the DMV investigator determines that the condition of your vehicle is not safe, the DMV will not examine the vehicle.
Make sure that you complete all the repairs and install all the replacement parts. You must install a new air bag to replace an activated air bag or an air bag that was removed from the salvage vehicle. You cannot install a used air bag from another vehicle.
You must show a sales receipt for each of the replaced parts, or your proof of ownership for other vehicles that you used to supply replacement parts. The proofs must show the complete VIN of the vehicle. The receipts and the proofs must match the correct parts included in the rebuilt vehicle.
You can only apply for a salvage vehicle examination by mail. Use these instructions:
- Download and complete form MV-82 (Application for Registration / Title) and form MV-899 (Application for Salvage Vehicle Examination). Carefully read the instructions on form MV-899. Make sure that you provide all the information that is requested on the forms.
- Send the forms, the required documents and the payment to the address listed on the form MV-899.
- The required documents include the original proof of ownership for the vehicle and sales tax receipt (FS-6T) you received at a DMV office. Read the instructions on form MV-899.
- You must pay the personal check or money order payable to "Commissioner of Motor Vehicles." The fee is $200 if you send form MV-907A (NYS Salvage Certificate) as proof of ownership. If you do not send form MV907A as proof of ownership, the fee is $205.
Once you have applied for the salvage inspection the New York DMV mails you a letter that provides the date and the time of your examination appointment, and the location and the directions to the examination facility that you selected. The DMV includes directions to the examination facility in your appointment letter. The letter also includes a mailing address and a telephone number if you must contact the DMV before your examination.
The examination facility that appears to be closest to your location in the Bronx would be the one in Queens located at 212-19 99th Avenue, Queens Village, NY 11429. You can look at the list of the directions to the examination facilities that the NYS DMV has to make sure this is the closest facility for you to take your vehicle for its salvage inspection.
Once your appointment is set up at the examination facility you will need to find out how to transport your vehicle to the examination facility for your salvage examination. You must transport the vehicle legally. You cannot drive your vehicle to the examination facility if it does not have a valid registration and liability insurance.
If your vehicle arrives at the examination facility and has illegal vehicle plates or an illegal vehicle registration, you can receive a ticket, and the DMV will hold the vehicle until you can transport it legally. The person who drives the vehicle to the examination facility must have a valid driver license.
These are the only legal methods that you can use to transport the vehicle to the examination:
- Tow the vehicle
- Transport the vehicle on a flatbed truck
- Use a dealer plate or transporter plate that complies with the laws that regulate them
To get more information on what you need to get your vehicle a salvage inspection and about the examination facilities available to you, contact the NYS DMV directly. Get more information on state laws and New York car insurance at our state page.