The South Carolina Driver's Manual discusses how long points for moving violations are kept on a SC driver's history. The manual states that points one year old are cut in half and after two years they will be wiped out completely.
So if you have 4 points it would appear that after 1 year your point total would be cut down to 2 and then after 2 years in total you would be back to zero points, unless you have been convicted of new offenses that have placed new points on your license.
Another way in which to clear your record of points, or at least reduce your total by 4, is to take a driver improvement class, traffic school.
There is also a provision in the South Carolina law that allows for a driver to reduce points on their license by four (4) upon successful completion of an approved defensive driving course. Only one such reduction in a 3 year period is permitted under this state law though.
Though points can reduced in the ways mentioned above, moving violation(s) that caused points to be assessed however, will remain on your SC driving record for 3 years from the date the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV) received notification of the ticket.
In South Carolina an accident or moving violation remains on your driving record for 3 years from the incident or date that the ticket was issued. We have however read that a hit and run, or leaving the scene of an accident stays on your SC driving record for at least 5 years. Something as serious as a hit-and run with property damage only is worth 6 points on a SC driver's license.
The South Carolina handbook notes that any licensed driver who is involved as a driver in four reportable accidents in any 24-month period, according to law, may be required to take any portion of the driver's license examination or the license may be recalled by the Department. Failure to do so will result in suspension of the driver's license until he or she takes and passes the required test.
According to the South Carolina Department of Insurance guide to auto insurance, violations and accidents may cause your premiums to be higher.
The DOI document goes on to say that insurance is based in part upon risk. How much more a driver has to pay for auto insurance depends upon that individual's driving record and the insurance plan without any traffic violations as offered by the insurance company.
So any accidents or moving violations you have on your driving record can be used by your insurance company as part of their rating process for you. We would recommend that you speak with your insurance agent about your insurance carrier's rating system and how traffic tickets and accidents affect your premiums.
The look back period for companies can differ in SC as well. Some may look back 3, others 5, 7 or 10 years. Since most violations and accidents are off your South Carolina motor vehicle record (MVR) in 3 years it is likely these offenses are rated for that period of time but as your agent for specific information.
Whether you have 0 points or have accumulated several points and moving violations on your SC license you can receive an online car insurance quote here with us.